Loving Mockingbirds…my Bookanista shout out

Welcome to another Bookanista feature. As always, there are some great reviews today, so be sure to check them out. Not sure who or what the Bookanistas are? Click here for the scoop, and be sure to tell us if you have an arc you’d like us to read.

This week’s Bookanista love features the following:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – THE MOCKINGBIRDS by Daisy Whitney

Release Date: November 2, 2010

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

Some schools have honor codes.
Others have handbooks.
Themis Academy has the Mockingbirds.

Themis Academy is a quiet boarding school with an exceptional student body that the administration trusts to always behave the honorable way–the Themis Way. So when Alex is date raped during her junior year, she has two options: stay silent and hope someone helps her, or enlist the Mockingbirds–a secret society of students dedicated to righting the wrongs of their fellow peers.

In this honest, page-turning account of a teen girl’s struggle to stand up for herself, debut author Daisy Whitney reminds readers that if you love something or someone–especially yourself–you fight for it.

 COVER:
 
  
 

 

 

 

 

Fav Quote:

This is the guy who makes me weak in the knees. The guy who makes me laugh. The guy who Daniel wasn’t. The kind of guy worth waiting for.

Worth waiting for.

Then like a kick in the gut, I’m doubled over. Because I am not worth waiting for. I have no virginity to give up because mine was taken.

I love the authenticity of this passage as the mc deals with the aftermath of her rape, and how it has impacted many aspects of her life. It’s real, raw and when I read it I understood exactly how she felt in that moment. 

Why I liked it:

THE MOCKINGBIRDS is everything  want in an issue book – honest, emotional, real. And, this story deals with the tender issue of date rape without being overly graphic. It realistically portrays what a young woman might feel as she deals with the realities of date rape – understanding what happened to her, recovering from the trauma, finding her voice, and taking a stand. In my opinion, this is a must read for any highschool student.

Excellent job Ms. Whitney!

Where to find it:

Be sure to check out the other Bookanista reviews. They are fabulous today….

AND…some unrelated news….

EMOTIONAL INTENSITY is finally in stock around the online retailers. You can order it from Barnes and Noble and Prufrock Press for immediate delivery. Amazon is still reporting a 3 week turn, but that should shift to in-stock this week as well. Thanks for all of the support with the book. If you want to share how any of the strategies have worked for you, please drop me a line.

What are you reading right now?

16 thoughts on “Loving Mockingbirds…my Bookanista shout out

  1. The Mockingbirds sounds like an excellent book to read! From that passage, it sounds very real. I’ll have to check it out.

    I’m not currently reading anything–I’m in between novels right now. But I think I may start Lies by Michael Grant today . . .

  2. This sounds like a great read – and as you said, required reading for any high school student.

    I just finished DUST CITY, by Robert Paul Weston. I’m currently reading JARHEAD (not kidlit), GOING BOVINE by Libba Bray, and ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card. All very good. Next on my list if FEED, by M. T. Anderson, and EMOTIONAL INTENSITY, of course! I’m kind of on a roll; I haven’t picked up a book that didn’t grab me in a long time.

  3. Putting this one on my buy list. Thanks for the heads up. The subject matter is something I think needs to be explored more, among that age group. I love the line, “That if you love something or someone–especially yourself–you fight for it.”

    I couldn’t agree more. I’ve had a few things to fight for in my lifetime. (Hugs)Indigo

Leave a Reply

