Why I LOVED Siren – Another Bookanista Review

Welcome to another Bookanista feature. As always, there are some FAB reviews today, so be sure to check them out. Not sure who or what the Bookanistas are? Click here for the scoop, and be sure to tell us if you have an arc you’d like us to read.

Since the Bookanistas themselves have some pretty amazing books coming out, I added information about some of their upcoming releases to my Bookanista Page. Be sure to check it out!

This week’s Bookanista love features the following:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – SIREN by Tricia Rayburn

Release Date: July 13, 2010

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

Seventeen-year-old Vanessa Sands is afraid of everything–the dark, heights, the ocean–but her fearless older sister, Justine, has always been there to coach her through every challenge.  That is until Justine goes cliff diving one night near the family’s vacation house in Winter Harbor, Maine, and her lifeless body washes up on shore the next day.

Vanessa’s parents want to work through the tragedy by returning to their everyday lives back in Boston, but Vanessa can’t help feeling that her sister’s death was more than an accident.  After discovering that Justine never applied to colleges, and that she was secretly in a relationship with longtime family friend Caleb Carmichael, Vanessa returns to Winter Harbor to seek some answers.

But when Vanessa learns that Caleb has been missing since Justine’s death, she and Caleb’s older brother, Simon, join forces to try to find him, and in the process, their childhood friendship blossoms into something more. 
Soon it’s not just Vanessa who is afraid.  All of Winter Harbor is abuzz with anxiety when another body washes ashore, and panic sets in when the small town becomes home to a string of fatal, water-related accidents . . . in which all the victims are found grinning from ear to ear. 

As Vanessa and Simon probe further into the connections between Justine’s death and the sudden rash of creepy drownings, Vanessa uncovers a secret that threatens her new romance, and that will change her life forever.

COVER:
 
 
     
    I think this is such a haunting cover – and perfect for the storyline.
 

 

 Fav Quote:

I’d never heard Zara laugh, and the sound was nothing I’d heard before. It was like one long high note hitting a glass prism and shattering into a million high notes – some short, some long, some loud, some soft – that shot out into the atmosphere at different angles until they completely drowned out all other noise.

I love how Tricia describes the sound – it was so tangible to me, like a visual depiction of the sound waves. Brilliant. 

Why I liked it:

SIREN is just beautifully written. Pure and simple. Every page gave me another taste if Tricia Rayburn’s writing style. Every page made me want more. The plot is fast paced and I never found myself bored. The end left me wanting, which was okay since I knew it was a series. But honestly, I hate that I have to wait! Excellent break into YA, Ms. Rayburn. 

Where to find it:

Be sure to check out the other Bookanista reviews. They are fabulous today….

What fabulous things have you read lately? And what new releases are you just DYING to read???

18 thoughts on “Why I LOVED Siren – Another Bookanista Review

  1. oooo another one for the pile! Nuts….I have way more on my wish list than I have money for (and my library has NONE of these lol) Oh dear….I really might go get a job at the bookstore just to support my habit…and get a discount😀

  2. I think I’m supposed to get this soon! Looking forward to reading it. And yes, that cover is gorgeous! Also, I think I sort of like books that leave you wanting at the end. I’m actually not one of those who gets to cliffhanger endings and gets upset. If I like the book, anyway….ha!

Leave a Reply

