Monday Musings

Hey all! So I had this fabulous post about writing all planned out in my head, ready to write and schedule for today. HA! Yea, that didn’t happen. In fact I didn’t write a single blog post for this week – the weekend was just too busy, despite the 2 extra days (or maybe because of the 2 extra days).

So I got up early to write the post, but…

I wrote this one instead – their were just too many random things floating around in my head this morning (And yea, I’ll try to keep it writing related).

So, onto the randomness:

  • When I am given the gift of writing time, as I was for 3 days this weekend, I can get a lot done. That is, if I stay away from twitter and fb and have to email writerly buds with my wordcount. There is something to be said for my competitive streak.
  • It is necessary to recharge my writerly battery every now and then – fortunately having dinner with Gretchen McNeil is the equivalent of at least 3 rechargings, so I should be good for a little while now. Add to that lunch with Shannon Messenger this week and man, I will be in great shape!
  • Guess what? I FINISHED 101 Success Secrets – okay not send-to-my-editor ready, more like almost-there-but-need-to-shine-it-up-a-bit-more ready. I’ll be doing more editing all week (thank you crit buds who have already gotten several chapters back to me) and should have this ready for my incredible editor next week. WOOT!
  • I told myself that as soon as finished 101 Success Secrets, I had to start my next fiction project. But, now that I’m ready to start, I find myself more than a little…freaked. Has that ever happened to you? Have you ever found yourself stressing more after the barriers are gone and you actually have to do the work you said you’d do??? Thankfully my CPs can be brutally honest and call me on my nonsense – so yea…I cracked open the document and started working.
  • This is going to be an EPIC week of gratitude on my blog. Tomorrow I will continue the “Giving Thanks” series by thanking my editor. And Wednesday I am taking part in a 165 blog book giveaway…truly EPIC!!! Be sure to check both things out and join in the fun. 
  • Harry Potter 7 midnight show. Need I say more?
  • Finally, this weekend marked another fabulous milestone (cue the theme from Forest Gump). 22 years ago, at the tender age of 22 (yea, you all know how old I am now), I married an amazing man. Since that time we’ve seen the birth of two incredible children, suffered the loss of a parent and the serious illness of another and dealt with our own near-death experiences. We’ve laugh, cried, and screamed. We’ve been rich and poor, happy and sad. In short – we’ve lived!

Happy Anniversary my love. I look forward to 22+ more amazing years.

What do YOU have to share this week?

15 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Congrats on finishing & happy anniversary!!!

    I’ll be “write” there with ya on the writing thing–I’m gonna give my YA dystopian a worthy plot! Lol. It only took me all weekend to get to chapter 2.😉

  2. What a wonderful week for you, Christine. Definitely a good week for gratitude. Congratulations first and foremost on your anniversary! You guys have made it through thick and thin, and that’s definitely worth congratulating. And way to go on finishing the new book! Only a little spit and polish, and you’ll be there! Enjoy your week ahead. You’ve earned it. Give Shannon a hug for me!

    And YES to HP7!! I can’t wait!!

  3. Well, I can’t imagine why you were unable to write an organzied blog post. You’ve got so much going on in your life right now, that sticking to one point would be tragic!

    Thanks for giving us a glimpse into your crazy/awesome life! And congrats on the book and the anniversary and all the other great things you got going on!🙂

  4. Happy Anniversary – our 14th is coming up at the end of this month! My kids (the 19-year-olds, not the 9-year-old) are going to the midnight showing of HP. I was hoping to go with them, but THEY want to just go with their friends because their group is making a day of it with watching the older movies and having a little party. My daughter said it would be “okay” if I went and could “even sit near them” …I’m so honored. So I’ll probably end up going to an early showing on Monday morning….or maybe I’ll show up with curlers in my hair, “Yoo hoo! Hi honey! Mommy’s here!” >;-)

Leave a Reply

