NaNo Update?!?!

Well, here we are, 3/4 of the way through November. I guess I should report my progress to date.

Yeah, not much.

You see, November was not only NaNoWriMo for me. It was hurry-up-and-finish-this-nf-ms month.

Yep, that’s right, I worked on 101 Success Secrets for Gifted Kids, finishing it up for my editor. And yes, that meant rewriting and adding to the tune of 45K. I finished up the draft and the first round of edits so far this month (thanks for your quick read CPs). I will be finishing the second round of edits this week and sending it off to my editor next Monday.

So what was my wc with fiction?

Well…

About that….

I sorta had a crisis of fiction-faith this month. It wasn’t the story (I LOVE the premise of my new WiP), and it wasn’t the time crunch (although, there is a huge time crunch issue). No, it was just a normal (for writers) loss of faith in my fiction writing.

It’s my own fault, really. I have a hard time switching gears from my nonfiction endeavors to fiction – at least, switching with the intensity I needed to finish NaNo.

So, instead of beating myself up, I decided on something else….

I’d pick a different month for NaNo. I could do DeNo or JaNo. They’re both catchy.

The truth is, I’m not pressuring myself to start. Not at the moment. When the muse comes back, I’ll write.

In the meantime, I’m writing in my journal – daily actually. Eventually something will return and I’ll crank out the next book at NaNo (or DeNo, JaNo, FeNo..etc) speeds.

I am very proud of my accomplishments this month, especially considering the stuff going on in my real life.

Did I finish NaNo? NOPE.

But I did finish the book I have on contract. And edits.

To me, that is HUGE.

How about you guys? How did you do with NaNo?

On a side note, I was on the OPERATION AWESOME blog yesterday, talking about being a writer of NF and Fiction. Check it out and leave a comment.

And, the GRATITUDE GIVEAWAYS is still going on. It is fabulous! Check it out here.

12 thoughts on “NaNo Update?!?!

  1. I’ve always wondered why they don’t do NaNo in say, February, when there’s not a whole lot going on. Instead, it’s “Here come the holidays — let’s smash writing a book in there as well!” Many congratulations on your accomplishments!

    I was lagging behind with NaNo up until this weekend — now I’m back on track to finish by the 1st. We’ll shall see…

  2. I didn’t do NaNo either. I did editorial revisions on my October novel, it went off to copy edits – and revised a new project of mine, a YA paranormal. And school visits and gearing up for a blog tour and did a huge mailing for The Healing Spell. So very busy and accomplished a lot! I’m finding that I don’t need a huge motivator like NaNo anymore to write. I have too many ideas and not enough time to get them all written.🙂

  3. ha! I just broke up with NaNo this morning😀 We had a good run, I got some awesome wordage in and notes for more – but yeah, not going to make it to 50k in the next week and I’m cool with that🙂 I’ll just keep plugging away, trying to make my 1000 word a day M-F goal, and be happy with what I’m able to do.

    Personally, I think putting NaNo during a month where there is a major holiday and the jump off to another major holiday, not to mention being smack dab in the middle of cold and flu season, is just someone’s idea of a sick (pun intended) joke😀

  4. I’m only at 15K because I’ve been doing a beta read and a 48-page newsletter on top of all the regular stuff. But this has proven to me that I can always find time to squeeze in a little bit of writing, even when my schedule looks impossible.

  5. Oh, yeah, I can only do one project at a time. As much as it’s fun to get caught up in the NaNo energy, it wasn’t good timing for me this year.

    That being said, I’m quite happy to report making stellar progress on my Dystopian rewrite–yup, I scrapped the original MS and made an outline and am now reorganizing the hell out of it. I’d say it’s a bout 30% old and 70% new. Let’s hope it’ll be 100% better, LOL!

    CONGRATS to you for finishing your NF! I can’t imagine what it must be like to switch gears between NF and F. Bravo!

  6. Congrats on getting that ms done (or nearly, anyway)! And good luck getting back to your fiction eventually.🙂

    FYI for those wondering – yes, NaNo in November is intentional, because busy people tend to get more done. It’s to prove that you can write no matter how busy you are (ie, takes away that “I want to write a book, but…” thing). And it’s main target is newbie writers, not those of use who have been writing for awhile.😉 Taken in context, I think November is the perfect month for NaNo.

    That said (and not being a “newbie” anymore), I’m not going to hit 50k by the 30th either. Mostly because while normally I only work on NaNo in Nov, this month I also have 2 other drafts going plus edits on a third, and my NaNo draft makes 4 novels total to work on this month (plus working full-time, etc). I may have overestimated my abilities a bit.😉 But I had to try anyways – it’s tradition. Next year I’ll plan better. For now, I’ll just keep plugging along, albeit at a far slower pace…

  7. You know, that’s okay. I purposely chose not to do NaNo because I was concerned about just what you’re dealing with. Responsibilities that can’t be put aside. I don’t think it matters when you finish it however, since being able to write 50K words is an accomplishment all by itself. Good luck with your NF edits and keep chugging away like you always do🙂

  8. You have so much to be proud of, girlie! You finished your book!! That’s huge! Take the rest of this month to relax, journal, and have a little down time with the family. They probably are missing you like crazy right now. I know those edits must have been killer. No one can fault you for waiting on your fiction. Your mind and heart need some time to recharge. Finishing book is like megamungo HUGE! So taxing on you. So, kudos, love. You’ve accomplished a ton.

    Happy Thanksgiving, chickadee!

Leave a Reply

