The Bookanista’s bring you Joey Fly, Private Eye in Big Hairy Drama

Welcome to another Bookanista feature. Before I jump into it, I want t take a moment to thank all of you for your well wishes – the emails, fb messages and tweets have meant more than any of you can know. This is still a hard time – but less so because all of you!

Okay, back to the post at hand…there are some FAB reviews today, so be sure to check them out. Not sure who or what the Bookanistas are? Click here for the scoop, and be sure to tell us if you have an arc you’d like us to read.

Since the Bookanistas themselves have some pretty amazing books coming out, I added information about some of their upcoming releases to my Bookanista Page. Be sure to check it out!

This week’s Bookanista love features the following:

 Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – JOEY FLY, PRIVATE EYE in BIG HAIRY DRAMA

Release Date: Nov 23, 2010

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

A cold snap has blown into town like an unwanted house pest. But there’s only one guy in the bug city with the power to put crime permanently on ice: Joey Fly, Private Eye. He’s always on the lookout for trouble, and he runs into it when he meets Harry Spyderson, proprietor of the Scarab Beetle Theatre and director of the much-anticipated Bugliacci.

Greta Divawing, the four-winged, long-legged leading lady, has gone missing. Harry hires Joey Fly and his assistant, Sammy Stingtail to crack the case. Can they find Greta in time to save the show?

COVER:
 
 
 

 

Such a great cover for MG kids – I know my nephew was drawn to it immediately!

 

 

 

Fav Quote:

Life in bug city. Hot. Wet. And Wicked.

But all that had changed two days earlier. A cold snap had blown into town like an unwanted house pest. And chilly weather has a habit of putting a deep freeze on crime. 

I love the voice of this book – such a brilliant balance between film noir and graphic novel. LOVE IT!!!

Why I liked it:

JOEY FLY, PRIVATE EYE in BIG HAIRY DRAMA is the second in this series. I loved it for the voice, the fabulous illustrations, and the marriage between graphic novel and mystery spoof. Truly a brilliant book that any MG kid will devour in a single sitting – as has every kid that has entered my house since I received the book!

Great job Aaron and Neil! I can’t wait to see more.

Want to know about the author and illustrator that gave life to this series? Check out my interview with them. They are fabulous!

Where to find it:

Be sure to check out the other Bookanista reviews. They are fabulous today….

What are you reading? I’ll be posting my FAV BOOKS of 2010 in a few weeks!!!

6 thoughts on “The Bookanista’s bring you Joey Fly, Private Eye in Big Hairy Drama

  1. Thanks, Christine, for hosting us! It’s been a blast to hang out at your blog the last couple days!

    Neil and I will be around all day touching base if anyone has a question, a thought, or simply wants to chat!

    ~Aaron Reynolds

Leave a Reply

