Housekeeping and Moving Forward and My Holiday Wishes…

Hey all! Happy weekend!!!

A couple of quick things today –

First, I wanted to announce the winner of Carolyn Kaufmans’ book THE WRITER’S GUIDE TO PSYCHOLOGY…

CAROLINA VALDEZ MILLER

WOO HOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

Second, I’ve decided to take the rest of the year off. Losing a parent has a way of throwing one’s world into chaos. It has so rocked the foundation of my life and forced me to look at everything – to look at my current path and question if this is the direction I should be going in.

So, while I search for my equilibrium over the next few weeks, not to mention take care of some very difficult RL things, I figure I wouldn’t bore you guys with my drama.

I will be back in the New Year, most likely – though truthfully, my life as a writer is also one of those things out of balance and one of those paths I am looking at.

I thought I’d leave you with one of my favorite passages from a book called Simple Abundance, by Sarah Ban Breathnach:

 If, as Herod, we fill our lives with things, and again with things; if we consider ourselves so unimportant that we must fill every moment of our lives with action, when will we have the time to make the long, slow journey across the desert as did the Magi? Or sit and watch the stars as did the shepherds? Or brood over the coming of the child as did Mary? For each one of us, there is a desert to travel. A star to discover. And a being within ourselves to bring to life.

Author Unknown

May your holidays bring you the joy to take you into the New Year.

6 thoughts on “Housekeeping and Moving Forward and My Holiday Wishes…

  1. I didn’t know you had lost a parent. (I’ve been mostly off facebook.) I am very sorry Christine. I know how hard it it. I’ve been there, done that. Please know I’ll be praying for you. And praying that you listen as God leads you down the path he wants you to be on. Again, I’m truly sorry for your loss. Merry Christmas, girl.

    Love the passage. Let us all take that to heart. Lovely and thought provoking.

  2. Nisa

    That quote is one of the coolest I’ve ever read. Thank you for sharing it! I’m sorry I haven’t been reading blogs. I knew you were hurting, but didn’t know why and didn’t dare ask. Christine, of course you’ll need time.My heart goes out to you. My whole soul and all my prayers. *hugs*

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your mother, Christine. I knew she was ill, but missed the news last week about her passing. My heartfelt condolences. May God bless you to have strength and comfort during this time. I lost my dad 5 days before Christmas when I was 14 years old and it was terrible. Christmas is still hard sometimes. Not always, but sometimes. Mostly I try to remember all the good things and that helps.

    Take care of yourself and take the time you need to grieve. We’ll all still be here after the new year.

    Much love to you,
    Kimberley

  4. Thanks so much, Christine. That makes me so glad! I look forward to reading it. But it just can’t offset how sad I am for you right now. I wish you the very best, and hope that you will find some healing in these next weeks off. My heart goes out to you, hon. See you when you get back. Mega hugs…

  5. Will miss you, though I’m so glad you’ve decided to take the time off and that you recognized that sooner rather than later. ((hugs)) and you know where to find me if you want/need to chat🙂 see you next year.

  6. Words can’t express how sorry I am for you. I can’t imagine how tough it is for you right now, but I’m kind of glad you’re taking the time off from this. The break will allow you to do what you need to do without worrying about this blog right now. Don’t misunderstand – we will definitely miss you while you’re out. But when you’re ready to come back, we’ll be waiting anxiously for you. Take care of yourself, and may loving memories of your mother guide you to a more peaceful tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

