My Addiction…

Okay, so staying away completely is not possible, I’ve discovered. It isn’t because my mind is thinking about writing or writing related things at the moment. And it isn’t because I am a workaholic and am ridiculously compelled to blog or write or whatever…

Nope!

The answer is much simpler.

I am addicted to all of you! Your comments, your tweets, just….

You.

I find that I miss little messages in my inbox. Or emails alerting me to a new comment on my blog.

I miss hearing about you and the things going on in your life. News of your books, your writing, you.

And I guess, in light of everything going on with me…I need all of you even more.

So, while I doubt I will manage more than a scattered blog here or there. And I doubt I’ll read many blogs, tweet much or update my fb status…

I have figured out that I can’t disappear completely.

I enjoy connecting with all of you too much.

And I guess that’s something….right?

What about you guys? Could you stay away for a long time?

Author: Christine Fonseca

Critically acclaimed author of edgy YA fiction, psych thrillers, and nonfiction self-help books. Drinker of skinny vanilla lattes. Lover of life. Titles include Lacrimosa, Transcend (both for YA) and The Girl Guide (non fiction for teen girls)

13 thoughts on “My Addiction…”

  1. It is not easy. Often I will sit and think about it, “What was it that I did before this sort of took over my life?” and the answers are slow to come. Recently we took a two week vacation and I was kind of proud of myself … I only checked the net, my mail, all of this, two times.

    Maybe I am getting better.

    DS

  2. I’ve tried before, too, and I’m just like you – I’m addicted! And I miss reading my friend’s posts if I disappear completely. There have been times (especially the past few months on so many tight deadlines and with a new baby in the house) that I’m only skimming. I haven’t been able to post many comments, but I’m usually *around*. I just *have* to see what everyone’s talking about and what the news is!

  3. I’ve *said* I’m taking a break before, but I always end up lurking which leads to commenting which leads to coming back full time. I’ve just given in to the addiction. Somedays I hit more blogs than others, but there is no escape anymore.

  4. LOL, I think this is precisely why I haven’t taken a break from blogging, haha!

    Seriously, though, I enjoy feeling connected to the writer community and my connectedness comes from social media & blogs.

    *hugs*

  5. I love hearing other people’s news and I love staying in contact with people who I have so much in common with in terms of specific interests like writing, working with kids, etc…most of all I love the contact because it’s part of being a human; we are social being, even someone like me who spends a lot of time alone. 🙂

  6. ha! i don’t sign up to stay away because, well, i would fail terribly. with that in mind, i usually just sign up to go on a bloggy hiatus while i check in with everyone twitter, or i just say i may be not quite as active. those things i can commit to way better than going completely off the grid. like you, i enjoy the company of all my online buddies. it’s nice to know there’s always someone around 🙂

Leave a Reply

