Reaching Out to Friends

I just wanted to take a quick moment to say thank you to all of you for your support during this time. It isn’t an easy thing for me to reach out to people when I am hurting. In fact, my dad asked me this week how I was managing to hold it all together so well (HA! If only…).

The truth is, I am used to taking care of others – friends, family, students….everyone. When I see someone in pain, or in need, I just can’t ignore it. So, during some of the roughest times in my life, I found myself helping those around me cope with their feelings. It’s not a bad character trait – helping others. But it can lead to some self-neglect.

Losing mom, however, left me so vulnerable that I had to learn to reach out to others, and to allow others in.

Oh, I’ve still spent the last three weeks helps friend and family cope. But I’ve also taken the time to connect with friends online…friends who generously reached out to offer their support to me.

Thank you all for your generous spirit.

Have the happiest of holidays. I don’t expect to post anything again until the first of the year. Of course, I’ve said that before *wink*

6 thoughts on “Reaching Out to Friends

  1. Krispy

    Wishing you the best holiday season! Glad to hear you’re doing better.🙂

    Just caught up on your last few posts and wanted to say THANK YOU for sharing them. They were inspirational and beautiful, and the Christmas story just brought a smile to my face. Happy Holidays!

  2. It’s in your nature to care for others. There’s no getting around that, I don’t think. But perhaps caring for others will help you heal? I think it might. I hope so. I’m always thinking about you, sweetie. I wish you peace and healing…

    Take care of yourself, hon. As always, mega hugs.

Leave a Reply

