Goals for 2011 and Giving Back

Setting goals is practically synonymous with the beginning of a new year. I typically don’t set resolutions, as I find I tend to lose interest in them within weeks. But I am goal-driven. So I sat down on 12/30 and mapped out my goals for my personal life (things like getting back into my daily exercise and meditation routine) and my writing life.

I used to write every day. Oh, I didn’t necessarily work on my projects daily, but I did work on something: a writing journal, daily writing exercises, projects…something.

That changed in 2010. Why? I don’t know. But I do know that I do better on many many levels when I commit to writing fully…and for me, that is daily.

Now, I’m not a tyrant about it. I know that life happens, things come up, vacations, etc. I figure since I only work at my day job 200 days a year (give or take), I should at least write 200 days a year.

So, that is my goal – daily writing to the tune of a minimum of 200 days this year.

I found out a lot of people have the goal of writing daily as well. In act, Jon Arntson and a few others blogged about it yesterday. They even added an extra incentive to keep them on track. Jon is giving to a fabulous charity each and every time he falls short of his resolution (in addition to a donation at the start and end of the year).

Well, I liked that…A lot.

In fact, it gave me an idea.

Rather than give to a charity if I don’t achieve my goal of writing 200 days, I am going to give every time I DO write.

So, each and every day I write something – journal entry, work on my projects, writing exercise – I will donate $1 to Jon’s charity, Room to Read.  Now, I’m not counting blogging as part of my writing, but almost everything else counts. 

Once a month, I’ll tally up my writing time and make a donation. And then I’ll let you all know how I did – just to be accountable.

What do you think? Sound like a win-win to you???

What are you doing to keep yourself motivated as you move closer to your dreams?

Author: Christine Fonseca

Critically acclaimed author of edgy YA fiction, psych thrillers, and nonfiction self-help books. Drinker of skinny vanilla lattes. Lover of life. Titles include Lacrimosa, Transcend (both for YA) and The Girl Guide (non fiction for teen girls)

16 thoughts on “Goals for 2011 and Giving Back”

  1. Sounds like a great plan.

    I already give a lot to charity, so it wouldn’t work for me. But I don’t need the incentive to achieve my goals. I just do them (unless I forget about them). 😉

  2. I like the dollar a day idea – and yeah, if YOU treat your writing like you’re a professional, that’s the beginning of others treating you like a professional writer as well! I will say that blogging is also writing – though maybe it’s not fiction, it all makes you a better writer (or at least it has made me a better writer overall!)
    Namaste, and thanks for sharing,
    Lee

Leave a Reply

