Another Amazing Book for My Bookanista Review – WITHER by Lauren Destefano

Welcome to another fabulous year of Bookanista reviews. We’ve got so many exciting things happening this year – several of the Bookanistas have their OWN books coming out, exciting reviews to give and new peeps to add. In fact, we have three new Bookanistas to add to the mix:

Not sure who or what the Bookanistas are? Click here for the scoop, and be sure to tell us if you have an arc you’d like us to read.

This week’s Bookanista love features the following:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – WITHER by Lauren Destefano

 Release Date: March 22, 2011

 Basic Blurb: (from Goodreads)

What if you knew exactly when you would die?

Thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb—males only live to age twenty-five, and females only live to age twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out.

When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden’s genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust among her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape—to find her twin brother and go home.

But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden’s eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant Rhine is growing dangerously attracted to, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limited time she has left.

COVER:
 
 
     
    I really like this cover – its creepy, just like the book!  

 

  

 

 

 

Fav Quote:

But instead of tears, when I press my face against the pillow, a horrible, primal scream comes out of me. It’s unlike anything I thought myself capable of. Rage, unlike anything I’ve ever known.

I so understood that sound…that feeling. BEAUTIFUL!

Why I liked it:

This was a complicated dark book that was satisfying in so many ways. Intricate weaving of characters, great emotional arc, and fabulous world building – all of it combines to make a most memorable read. I did not “love” the end, but I am certain most people will! This NEEDS to be on your must-read list – trust me!

Where to find it:

Be sure to check out the other Bookanista reviews. They are fabulous today….

What are you reading?

12 thoughts on “Another Amazing Book for My Bookanista Review – WITHER by Lauren Destefano

  1. Oh yay! So glad to hear something about this book. The cover caught my eye a while ago, and I’ve been waiting to find out more about it! Another book to look forward to!

  2. I’m pretty sure I saw Wither at the Borders on Monday. If my arms hadn’t already been full – and my credit card softly weeping – I would’ve picked it up. Now I wish I had. Thanks for the recommendation. =o)

Leave a Reply

