Write Through The Problem

We all have those days when the last thing we feel like doing is writing – or maybe this is just me. You know, those moments when you stare and stare and stare at the blank page, willing some words, ANY words, to magically appear.

Sadly, I had a YEAR of those moments.

So this year, I am determined to work through the problem. More accurately, I’m going to WRITE through the problem.

What the heck do I mean by that?

I am going to cultivate the HABIT of writing again. It’s a habit I used to have. Before last year. Before I swam in the funk of the query pond and let too many issues clog up my muse. Before I started feeling like my NF projects didn’t really count as writing since they were things I do every day in my day job.

But more about my crazy depths of despair later (I am blogging about this tomorrow).

The reality is, I lost my umff to write – I stopped writing like I meant it and started writing almost apologetically, allowing myself way too much freedom with the delete button way too early in the process (just ask my CPs – they’ve all but removed the button from my computer). I started doubting my words before they even left my head.

In short – I got stuck. Clogged. And frustrated.

My writing time evaporated as I made myself busy with excuses – both good ones (“I need to spend time marketing Emotional Intensity”) and not so good ones (“I’m never gonna figure this out so what is the blasted point anyway”). I allowed all that chatter to erode the confidence I had in my fiction writing – the confidence I never lost in my nonfiction projects.

But here’s the thing – sometimes you really do need to “fake it til you make it”. Sometimes you need to write through the problem.

One more little thing to remember as you cultivate your writerly habits – they’re just words – they can be changed. But not until to get them out of your head and onto the page. 

What about you? Have you ever had a paralyzing confidence crunch???

10 thoughts on “Write Through The Problem

  1. *hugs*

    I totally sympathize w/ you. After I realized my YA dystop needed a total rewrite, I wanted to quit. What *was* the point in doing all this, only to gave to start over *again!*????

    Thankfully, writer buds pulled me back from the brink & cheered me on. So I rewrote.

    But now, I have to do revisions, argh!!!!

    Lol!

    PS. I totally want to read your stories, so you *have* to keep writing, ‘kay? Ok.😉

  2. “Fake it ’till you make it” is my absolute favorite quote of all time. I use it in ALL SITUATIONS. For me, writing through has been essential. I use Tina’s The Practice Room to do so, because after writing for an hour, there are wonderful writers to clap me on the back, and say good job. And that’s just what I need.🙂 Good luck–you are most definitely not alone!!

  3. :hugs: “Paralyzing confidence crunch” is a regular state of being for me. As the years of doing this go by, I’m getting better, but then again, just thinking about how the years have gone by can put me into a state of motionlessness. So I try not to think about it.

    In fact, I’m stuffing that thought into a box in the spare room of my subconscious even as I type this. ;o)

  4. As I’m sure you’ve noticed lately, I’m having that confidence crunch right now. I have the querying blues, but they are paired with a side order of blank pages and empty thoughts. This post is a good reminder for me. Thanks!! 🙂

  5. I doubt myself all the time, but I do believe in the power of faking it ’til I make it. Too often, I put things off to the side because I don’t think I can work through them or figure the problem out. But maybe I just need to face them head on and clean up the messy parts later.🙂 I’ve heard even if you just put on a smile without feeling it, you’ll eventually start feeling a happier.

Leave a Reply

