Got Writing Headaches? Have I Got A Solution For You!

WOW-OH-WOW – There are amazing things happening with the Bookanistas today!

First off, A HUGE GINORMOUS CONGRATS to fellow Bookanista BETH REVIS – she DEBUTED AT #7 on the New York Times Bestseller list with ACROSS THE UNIVERSE!!!! I’ll be giving my Bookanista review for that one soon.

In the meantime, we have lots of amazing Bookanista reviews going on today. Just check out the list:

Elana Johnson recommends Michelle McLean’s HOMEWORK HELPERS: ESSAYS and TERM PAPERS with a great Giveaway

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out  – HOMEWORK HELPERS: ESSAYS AND TERM PAPERS by Michelle McLean

Release Date: TODAY!!!! WOO HOOOOOOO

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

The newest addition to our best-selling Homework Helpers series is a fun, user-friendly guide that takes the confusion out of writing essays and papers for students of all ages. Unlike other books that are so full of technical jargon they confuse more than help, Homework Helpers: Essays and Term Papers uses straightforward language and simple steps to guide students through the essay-writing process.
  • Describes in detailed “plain English” each element and step involved in writing a dozen different types of essays
  • Includes a rough, edited, and final draft sample of each type of essay discussed
  • Explains the necessity of proofreading and citing sources, providing tips and instruction on how to accomplish these tasks
  • Presents step-by-step instructions on how to write a great SAT essay
  • Discusses what students can expect when they reach college-level courses
  • Why I liked it:

    This is a fabulous resources for teens and adults from 8th grade through college. Every single type of writing assignment you may ever get is covered in this easy-to-read book. Each task is broken down into mini “lessons” that can make the most writing-phobic kid feel like they can not only do the assignment, but do it well.

    I have two kids at home. My teen is in a gifted program, but she will tell you that writing does not come naturally to her (she is more the math/science geek). This book is perfect for her, breaking the writing down in a formulaic way that makes her comfortable with the writing process.

    If you have kids in HS or college, or if you know any, go and get this book! You won’t be disappointed. And if you are an English teacher, this is a great resource for your parents! I really can’t speak strongly enough about it.

    And to really show you what a great book this is, I’m doing a giveaway! Just follow me here, leave a comment, and follow Michelle on her blog. That’s it. I’ll choose a random winner tomorrow.

    What do you get? A SIGNED copy of HOMEWORK HELPERS: ESSAYS and TERM PAPERS. Sweet, right???

    Where to find it:

    Be sure to check out the other Bookanista’s today and give a big congrats to fellow Bookanista, BETH REVIS for her excellent NYTimes honor.

     

    10 thoughts on “Got Writing Headaches? Have I Got A Solution For You!

    1. Jonathon Arntson

      LOVE this book and the ideas behind it. I read about it over at Elana’s, but you outlined excellent reasons why you like the book. And I consider you an expert because of your published works.

      Thanks for seconding Elana’s review! I am off to Borders to make a purchase. Or I’ll wait until tomorrow to see if I have won.😛

    2. Way to go, Beth!

      I’ve been seeing a lot of buzz about Michelle’s book and it’s already on my wishlist. I think it’ll really help my daughter with the end of her senior year and with college next year. Thanks for putting in another recommendation for it. =o)

    3. This is so awesome. Not to steal Michelle’s thunder either, but it’s totally awesome that Beth’s book is #7! Wow. As for Michelle’s book, it is so cool. I am def going to pick up a copy, since I have a couple kids who neither of which enjoy doing this type of writing. Maybe her book will help me adjust their thinking about it, as well make it easier for them.

    4. Woot! Great review of Homework Helpers: Essays and Term Papers. I’ve already got my copy and will be using it to teach my kids the crucial skill of essay-writing, which is sadly a big gap in many kids’ education. Heck, I might make my techie husband read it, too.🙂 He could use the guidance for his master’s classes.

      Congrats to Michelle for a very successful launch!

      And congratulations, BETH!!! #7 on the NYT Bestseller List is, to borrow Elana J’s word, frawesome! Across the Universe FTW!

    Leave a Reply

    