The Fabulous Familiars!

HAPPY THURSDAY! I love Bookanista Thursday. All the fab titles to add to my TBR list, getting to read everyone’s different take on some pretty amazing books – totally AWESOME, right???

And our Bookanista family just keeps growing…Today, Rosemary Clement-Moore joins this crazy, insane group!!! {{What was she thinking???}}

Here’s the list of amazing reviews this week:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – THE FAMILIARS by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson.

Release Date: Sepember 7, 2010

 Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

THE FAMILIARS are the magical animal companions to a wizard or witch. When three young wizards-in-training get kidnapped by the evil queen of the land, it is up to their familiars to go a dangerous journey to rescue them. You’ll meet Aldwyn, an orphan alley cat pretending to have telekinesis; Skylar, a know-it-all blue jay who can cast illusions; and Gilbert, a hapless tree frog with the ability to see visions of the future in pools of water. See what happens when these three animal assistants — typically relegated to the background or found sitting quietly on their wizard’s shoulders — go on a heroic adventure of their own!

COVER:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I love the magic in this! 
   

 

Why I liked it:

I don’t read much MG. It isn’t my thing – not like YA is. But, I am a total sucker or stories about magic…or animals. In The Familiars, you have both. It’s a great adverture story mixing the animal antics of Increbile Journey with the magical world of Harry Potter. I mean, imagine what would happen if Hedwig, Trevor and Crookshanks (before we knew who he was) all went out on a magical journey together. Well, that’s basically what you have with The Familiars.

Where to find it:

Be sure to check out the other Bookanista reviews. They are fabulous today….

Oh! And be sure to stop by tomorrow for a special, super-secret EPIC moment of extreme humiliation. No seriously…I’m not kidding……

12 thoughts on “The Fabulous Familiars!

  1. It’s not my thing, but I love the cover. Now I just have to convince one of my three kids to want to read it. I don’t think it’s the kind of stuff my oldest two like to read. My youngest would like it, but not until she’s older. What reading level in MG is it for, Christine?

  2. I love MG if it’s well-written (like any other genre, I guess), so thanks for the recommendation. I’ll be looking for it the next time I place a book order. If you’re looking for other MG to read, try Dean Lorey’s Nightmare Academy series. =o)

  3. Jonathon Arntson

    I love the cover, I am glad it made it up there😛

    I am not sure How I have not heard of this book, but I am thankful you introduced it to us! It looks like a real winner.

    Also, I am talking my Ed prof into ordering your first book today. It is directly related to the second half of the chapter we are in. The chapter headlines are: Emotional Intelligence (EQ), The Gifted and the Talented, and Exceptional Learners. I thought of you immediately when I turned the page and saw the words ‘gifted’ and ‘learners’! I cannot wait to gain your insight on those subjects. I am going to find someone who can order your books for me! Oh, and my text book is by Sadker and Zittleman.

  4. Natalie Aguirre

    Thanks for sharing. I’ve been wanting to read this and it’s great that you are spotlighting MG. It doesn’t get enough attention.

Leave a Reply

