Thank You Helen Keller

Last Christmas, “Santa” gave each of my girls  a magnet quote in their stockings. Now, I am pretty certain that those were found a long time ago…VERY certain, in fact. 

Mom had not passed when those quotes were found. And yet, each one of them expressed the exact right words for the somber time.

One in particular, a Helen Keller quote, touched my dad so much, that I had to find a card with the same quote for him.

When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.

Holy cow, right? PERFECT.

So, I decided to look for more fabulous Helen Keller quotes – little reminders for those hard days.

Here is a taste of what I found:

Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.

And –

Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.

And –

It is for us to pray not for tasks equal to our powers, but for powers equal to our tasks, to go forward with a great desire forever beating at the door of our hearts as we travel toward our distant goal.

And finally –

Many persons have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. It is not attained through self-gratification but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.

Thank you Helen Keller – for a lifetime of inspiration.

Who inspires you?

7 thoughts on “Thank You Helen Keller

  1. Great quotes to carry me through the weekend. Thank you. I love the one about the closed door. Another good one from her is “One can never consent to creep when one feels an impulse to soar.”

    Some of the other awesome quotes that inspire me come from Vince Lombardi. One of my favorites is “The greatest accomplishment is not in never falling, but in rising again after you fall.” and another is “Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence.” =o)

  2. Those quotes are really inspiring.

    I generally get inspiration from all over the place. Particularly the achievements of people who have beaten the odds.
    🙂

  3. Jonathon Arntson

    Whoa. Quotes tend to not speak to me, or rather, I am not very receptive to them. But who can deny the words of Helen Keller?

  4. I have that first quote framed on my desk as a reminder, my deafness is only a closed door, my writing is the door that opens next.

    Another quote of Helen Keller that I love is:
    “Literature is my Utopia. Here I am not disenfranchised. No barrier of the senses shuts me out from the sweet, gracious discourses of my book friends. They talk to me without embarrassment or awkwardness.” – Helen Keller

    That one is self explanatory. Like my writing, within the words I hear just as well as the next person. (Hugs)Indigo

Leave a Reply

