You talkin’ to me?

I have new followers and so I thought I’d take a page from Elana Johnson and Ali Cross and tell you all a little about myself.

{{Warning – it is entirely possible this is WAY MORE than you want to know about me}}

So, here we go:

  • I’ve been married for 23 years this year. I often call my husband “superhubby” as he has to keep this crazy household together when I am writing.
  • We have two kids, one I lovingly call THE TEEN and my PRETEEN. The kids definitely help me “keep it real” with my writing.
  • I work in education as a school psychologist – and yes, I have a love-hate relationship with the day job at the moment.
  • I write BOTH nonfiction and fiction because I am pretty much insane.
  • I often talk about my amazing CPs (critique partners). I am still in shock that they put up with my angst…
  • Which reminds me, I’m every bit as emotionally intense as the kids I write about – consider yourself warned.
  • I have two places I LOVE to write (though I will write anywhere and everywhere, trust me) – my cave at home, and my other cave. The other cave features cute baristas and fabulous lattes.
  • Yes, I can be found rocking out with Band Hero or dancing to Just Dance 2 with the kids – not that you will EVER get to witness this!
  • I may be a little obsessive about shoes.
  • I may feel significant angst over “fitting in” with the cool peeps I like to hang out with online.
  • I definitely feel guilty about not being able to “do it all” – you know, keep up with work, writing, blogging, parenting, etc….{{And yes, I may have a bit of a superwoman complex}}. If this sounds like you  too, do yourself a favor and read about Sara Zarr’s Keynote at SCBWI. BRILLIANT!!! (read here)
  • When I am not working, writing, or stressing (which almost never happens), I like to garden, cook (gourmet, all the way) or hang with/have dinner with people significantly cooler than me!

I guess that’s it….me in a nut shell. Learn anything new???

Now, tell me something about you…

10 thoughts on “You talkin’ to me?

  1. Thanks for the link to Sara Zarr’s speech! I’d heard of it on Twitter, but not seen the actual outline of what she said. Wish I could have been there!

    (Also: I have angst, too! After Elana’s post, I’m spending all my time wondering if maybe we ALL think we’re on the outside looking in…)

  2. See, for me, you’re one of the cool kids who I try to fit in with…BUT the reason I keep coming back here is because of who YOU are. You write valuable posts and I think keeping a connection with you will be beneficial to my writing career.

    Thanks for sharing this. I have written three Who am I posts…yeah, not posting them.

  3. Natalie Aguirre

    Great link. Thanks for sharing it. It was very inspiring. Glad to get to know you better. I’m like you–trying to juggle work, family & writing. Glad I’m not alone.

  4. Yay! I loved this! Let’s see, I knew about the crazy passion for Just Dance 2. I knew about the emotional intensity (just a little bit, I swear). And you’re the second person today to link me to Sara’s talk. I have it in a tab ~ guess it’s time I slink on over there and read it, eh?

    Thanks for sharing this Christine! I love getting to know you a bit better!

Leave a Reply

