Come Across the Universe with me…A Bookanista Shout Out!~

HAPPY THURSDAY! Welcome to another fabulous Bookanista week. Man, these weeks are getting better and better!

This week I want to welcome our newest Bookanistas:

  • Kimberley Griffiths Little
  • Stasia Kehoe
  • Veronica Rossi
  • Cory Jackson

We are so glad they joined us!  

Now, on to this week’s fabulous reviews:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – ACROSS THE UNIVERSE by Bookanista Beth Revis.

Release Date: January 11, 2011

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

A Story of Love, Murder, and Madness Aboard an Enormous Spaceship Bound for the Future Amy is a cryogenically frozen passenger aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed. She expects to wake up on a new planet, 300 years in the future. But fifty years before Godspeed’s scheduled landing, Amy’s cryo chamber is unplugged, and she is nearly killed.

Now, Amy is caught inside an enclosed world where nothing makes sense. Godspeed’s passengers have forfeited all control to Eldest, a tyrannical and frightening leader, and Elder, his rebellious and brilliant teenage heir.

Amy desperately wants to trust Elder. But should she? All she knows is that she must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets before whoever woke her tries to kill again.

Across the Universe is Titanic meets Brave New World.

COVER:
 
 
 
 
 
I like this cover – but my favorite part of getting the book…
 
THE REVERSIBLE cover – seriously! Turn it over and voila….the diagram of the massive ship. SWEET!
 
{{And on an amazing side note – you really MUST check out the website and “play” – seriously. Check out the interactive site – A.MA.ZING!!!!!!!!!!!!}}
 
 
 
 
 Why I liked it:

Okay, I’ll admit it…Science Fiction is not my favorite genre. Don’t get me wrong, I am a book lover so I can usually find things in any genre that I like. That said, this is NOT my go-to genre. So it was with great worry that I started this book. I mean, Beth is perhaps one of the nicest people on the planet. What if I didn’t like the book?

To complicate things I get down right cynical with books that receive TONS of hype. So yeah…I was a bit freaked about reading this one.

Guess what? I had no reason to feel that way. I really enjoyed ACROSS THE UNIVERSE. The writing is absolutely beautiful. And yes, there are a lot of loose ends by the end…but I know it’s part of a series, so Beth managed to keep me guessing a bit – wondering what was going to happen with certain parts of the storyline. All good things.

Has Beth managed to make me a SciFi book lover now? Is this my new go-to genres?…

Um…

NO!

But, will I read the rest of the series? Absolutely! And would I recommend this to everyone who will listen to me? YES

Let me say it again…YES.

Beth has a sure winner here and deserves every accolade coming her way.

WELL DONE BETH!

Where to find it:

Be sure to check out the other Bookanista reviews. They are fabulous. {{My TBR pile is seriously beginning to EXPLODE}}

18 thoughts on “Come Across the Universe with me…A Bookanista Shout Out!~

  1. Natalie Aguirre

    I’m not a sci-fi fan either but can’t wait to read this. I will as soon as my daughter finishes it. She snagged it first. Thanks for the great review.

  2. Thank you for the welcome, Christine! And I already went out and bought Beth’s book, but haven’t read it yet. I read the first chapter online and it was very intriguing. I cracked up over the video y’all did for Beth last week congratulating her on the bestseller list. Wow!

  3. I don’t usually go for hyped books either, but I guess I didn’t think of the buzz about this book as hype. :shrug: I am absolutely in awe of Beth and the way she’s gotten her book out there. I should be so on the ball when I finally get published.

    Once upon a time SF was my go-to genre. Now I’ll read pretty much anything. I can’t wait to read Across the Universe, but I don’t know when I’ll actually get to it. The ol’ TBR pile is huge and I feel guilty reading something I just bought before something that’s been sitting there for weeks.

  4. Dude, if any book can pull someone into sci-fi, it’s Beth’s AtU. She did such a marvelous job with it. But yes, I’m really wary of overhyped books too and generally run from them (still haven’t read Mockingjay!) But Across the Universe is not one to miss! You pointed to the best parts of it. The sci-fi stuff was cool, but it’s the characterization and the suspense that really rocks it.

  5. Thanks for the welcome, Christine! Ever since reading ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card a decade ago, I’ve developed an increasing appreciation for sci-fi. I love contemporary fiction too but, right now, ATU is sitting on my nightstand and I can’t wait to start reading it!

  6. Hear! Hear! I completely agree. It was a great read. I thought the ending tied up nicely even though it’s obviously set up for more. I’m definitely reading the rest of this series.

  7. I’m also in the Sci-Fi-is-not-my-thing boat, so I was iffy about reading this when I first heard about it. But then reviews started coming out, and then there was the hype (which I’m usually wary of, but I got swept up here)… I think I was a little over-hyped for this book, but I still enjoyed it and I will also be reading the sequel.🙂

  8. I do like sci-fi, but tend to read more fantasy. That being said, the nerd in me came out and I totally studied the ship’s diagram on the reverse side of the book cover, LOL!

    I like how this book not only incorporates futuristic sci-fi stuff and techno-gadgets, it also pulls out the human quality and highlights the relationships. Brava, Beth!!!!!!

    NICE REVIEW, Christine!

  9. Pingback: Beth Revis Pt.III « Jaredjohnsmith's Blog

Leave a Reply

