Regrouping a tad…

Happy President’s Day! Today is day four of my nice break from work, life, etc. I had big plans for this for day weekend – and all of them involved writing. However, my body and mind had completely different ideas.

On Friday, I slept. Almost all day. That’s okay, right? I mean, work has been insane. RL has been insane. So, my entire family and I spent the day hanging out, sleeping, vegging and doing…well…nothing really.

Saturday, my oldest was sick and slept all day long. My youngest worked on a project. My hubby and I watched movies – all day. I literally though about….NOTHING. It was refreshing and by the end of the day I thought of all the things I would get done on Sunday.

Yep, you guessed it, I did….

NOTHING.

At least not until Sunday evening.

I realized something in all the relaxing. I was running on empty. Truthfully,I have probably been running on empty for too long. I am usually better about not letting myself get so run down, but in addition to running on empty, I think I was also just not paying attention.

Lesson learned.

I need to pay better attention and take good care of me. It’s something I think most writer’s need to do a little more of, yes?

So here we are….Monday. I am writing today. And I do feel rejuvenated. Taking three full days off of life will do that to a person. Let’s hope it doesn’t take getting this run down to remind me of that again.

What do you do to rejuvenate? Do you ever let yourself get too run down? Or am I the only one?

9 thoughts on “Regrouping a tad…

  1. Yup. That sounds about right. It’s like you’re pulling bucket after bucket up and even though the well does refresh itself, you’re draining it faster than any trickle can keep up with. Good for you to take a day or three to refill. Here’s to a productive writing day – for both of us, if I can find a bit of gumption somewhere.

  2. oh yeah. I’m currently on what I hope is an upward swing from my own run-down. It’s hard to get back into it, but really, if this is what I want to do it’s not like I have a choice in the matter😉

  3. I hope your writing goes well today! I’m sorry it took you getting so run down to realize you needed a break like that, but I’m glad you got one. That must have been so nice. I wish I could! I’m hating my part time job right now because it seems to be taking all of my writing time and it’s very frustrating because the woman who brings me the projects is so disorganized it makes TONS of extra work for me. So any extra time I get has to be for writing, not relaxing unfortunately. However, writing is a release for me. I get grouchy the longer I go without writing.

  4. Pani McKenzie

    I’m always working too hard and pushing to finish my “to do” lists. Once a month I have a scrapbook or craft day with friends or an all day movie marathon with Mike to relax. With the Bed and Breakfast guests here on weekends, the “all day” might turn into “most of the day” but it’s good enough to re-charge me. You’re not alone.

  5. Natalie Aguirre

    Yes I get run down. Like all the time. Sometimes doing nothing and spending time with your family is the best way to get a jump start on your energy. And it’s important to spend time with your family. This weekend I spent the entire weekend taking my daughter to her swim meets and watching her so got no writing done. But you only get to be a parent once and she’s 13 already so it’s okay.

Leave a Reply

