Spreading Some Bookanista Love for LEVERAGE

HAPPY THURSDAY everyone! So much going on today, I don’t know where to start…

First, my deepest condolences to the entire writing community for the loss of Lisa (LK Madigan).  You can read a little about her from her agent.

Next, the Bookanistas have discovered the Reading Room!  Not sure what that is? Well…

Click here to join The Bookanista Book Club at The Reading Room where you can check out all the books we’re buzzing about!

Finally… Thank you all for the fabulous support of Bookanista Gretchen McNeil’s big cover reveal on Tuesday, and my excerpt reveal yesterday. This community of writer’s I have found myself in is truly all-kinds of amazing and AWESOME!!

Now, on to this week’s fabulous reviews:

 

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – LEVERAGE by Joshua C. Cohen

Release Date: February 17, 2011

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

The football field is a battlefield

There’s an extraordinary price for victory at Oregrove High. It is paid on-and off-the football field. And it claims its victims without mercy-including the most innocent bystanders.

When a violent, steroid-infused, ever-escalating prank war has devastating consequences, an unlikely friendship between a talented but emotionally damaged fullback and a promising gymnast might hold the key to a school’s salvation.

Told in alternating voices and with unapologetic truth, Leverage illuminates the fierce loyalty, flawed justice, and hard-won optimism of two young athletes.

 
 Why I liked it:

This book is gut-wrenching, raw, and intensely emotional. It shows a realistic depiction of some horrific things that many of us would like to think doesn’t happen in HS.  Think again!!! I can tell you, it does – more often than most adults would like to admit.

And although it is a tough read for its content, I truly felt it was a story begging to be told! One of my favs this year.

WELL DONE, Mr. Cohen. Well done.

Where to find it:

How’s your TBR pile looking? Mine is INSANE!!!

6 thoughts on “Spreading Some Bookanista Love for LEVERAGE

  1. My heart goes out to LK’s family and loved ones. I wish I had known her.

    I’m really looking forward to reading LEVERAGE. It’s been a while since I’ve had an emotional read. I think it’s due time for some catharsis😉

    Congratulations on the release of your excerpt. It’s so well done. I can’t wait to read the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

