Channeling Nancy Drew – A Bookanista Review of Liar Society (plus a giveaway)

HAPPY THURSDAY everyone! We have a fabulous review list today!

The Bookanistas have discovered the Reading Room! Not sure what that is? Well…

Click here to join The Bookanista Book Club at The Reading Room where you can check out all the books we’re buzzing about!

Now, on to this week’s fabulous reviews:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – THE LIAR SOCIETY by sisters, Lisa and Laura Roecker

Release Date: March 1, 2011

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

Since when do the dead send emails?

Kate Lowry’s best friend Grace died a year ago. So when she gets an email from her, Kate’s more than a little confused.

To: KateLowry@pemberlybrown.edu
From: GraceLee@pemberlybrown.edu
Subject: (no subject)
Kate,
I’m here… sort of.
Find Cameron. He knows.
I shouldn’t be writing.
Don’t tell. They’ll hurt you.

Now Kate has no choice but to prove once and for all that Grace’s death was more than just a tragic accident. She teams up with a couple of knights-in-(not-so)-shining armor-the dangerously hot bad boy, Liam, and her lovestruck neighbor, Seth. But at their elite private school, there are secrets so big people will do anything to protect them-even if it means getting rid of anyone trying to solve a murder…

 

Cover Love:

 

 

 

I just love the Pink hair! But mostly, I LOVE the pinkified Twitter it inspired!

 

 

 

Why I liked it:

I grew up reading Nancy Drew. The Liar Society brought me back to some of my fondest childhood memories – but in a 2011, cool, hip way. The premise is amazing – and the execution was fabulous.  The characters were relatable – which is something I think is superbly important in YA.

GREAT DEBUT Roecker sisters. I look forward to many more books in the future.

Where to find it:

And now, the GIVEAWAY!!! Leave a comment and I will pick a random commenter to win a copy of the arc. Cool??? Cool! (And sorry guys, this one is US only). Contest ends Friday, March 11. 2011.

Good luck!

23 thoughts on “Channeling Nancy Drew – A Bookanista Review of Liar Society (plus a giveaway)

  1. abby mumford

    my powers of deduction had left me with the conclusion that the pinkified twitter was because of this book, but i’m glad to hear you confirm it. i love being smart! and i love me some nancy drew, so a 2011 version of that? sign me up!

  2. Angie D

    I have been wanting to read this book! I have heard great things about it. Thanks for the giveaway!
    bangersis(at)msn(dot)com

  3. I loved Nancy Drew as a kid, and I totally see the connection. Except Kate Lowry is so, so real, isn’t she? Nancy Drew was always just a little too perfect, and not nearly as funny! But yeah, it was really cool to feel that Nancy Drew connection again. Warm fuzzies.

  4. Random commenter here–hehe. Anyway, i was a humongous nancy drew geek back in the day…and till day have a huge fondness for mysteries, especially of the YA category! so its only natural id love to read the book.
    oh, and LiLa rock. ’nuff said.
    my email id is, well, attached to the comment form, so i dont think i have to leave it out here, right? spambots are really uncool, as you know.

  5. Pingback: Freaky Friday | CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR

Leave a Reply

