Saving the Cat and Other Bookanista Things

HAPPY THURSDAY everyone! It’sBookanista time!

Oh, and don’t forget about the Reading Room! Not sure what that is? Well…

Click here to join The Bookanista Book Club at The Reading Room where you can check out all the books we’re buzzing about!

Now, on to this week’s fabulous reviews:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – SAVE THE CAT by Blake Snyder

Release Date: 5/25/2005

Basic Blurb: (from Goodreads)

One of Hollywood’s most successful spec screenwriters tells all in this fast, funny, and candid look inside the movie business. “Save the Cat” is just one of many ironclad rules for making your ideas more marketable and your script more satisfying – and saleable. This ultimate insider’s guide reveals the secrets that none dare admit, told by a show biz veteran who’s proven that you can sell your script if you can save the cat. 

Cover Love:

 

 

 

I just love this cover, you know…and based on the book – PERFECT! 

 

 

Why I liked it:

This book completely exemplified how I structure stories/novels. It was PERFECT for me – the beat sheets, the timeline, etc…all of it matched and simplified the natural way I think and write. For me, this was great – something I could do and use regularly.

Where to find it:

How’s your TBR pile looking? Mine is INSANE!!! But I am making headway…I think!

7 thoughts on “Saving the Cat and Other Bookanista Things

  1. I LOVE this book. I use it all the time and I teach from it, too. For me it solidified a lot of things that I did naturally (since I wrote plays before I wrote books, I already thought in three act structure) but couldn’t really explain because I didn’t do them on purpose.

    It’s a quick read, and I agree– a definite must read.

Leave a Reply

