Man, I Just Love Like Mandarin – My Bookanista Post

HAPPY THURSDAY everyone! As always, we have some amazing posts in store. And did you know that there is another great bookish site in town – The Reading Room! The Bookanistas even have their own book club there – check it out: 

Click here to join The Bookanista Book Club at The Reading Room where you can check out all the books we’re buzzing about!

Now, on to this week’s fabulous reviews:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – the Amazing LIKE MANDARIN by Kirsten Hubbard

Release Date: 3/8/2011

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

 It’s hard finding beauty in the badlands of Washokey, Wyoming, but 14-year-old Grace Carpenter knows it’s not her mother’s pageant obsessions, or the cowboy dances adored by her small-town classmates. True beauty is wild-girl Mandarin Ramey: 17, shameless and utterly carefree. Grace would give anything to be like Mandarin.

When they’re united for a project, they form an unlikely, explosive friendship, packed with nights spent skinny-dipping in the canal, liberating the town’s animal-head trophies, and searching for someplace magic. Grace plays along when Mandarin suggests they run away together. Blame it on the crazy-making wildwinds plaguing their badlands town.

Because all too soon, Grace discovers Mandarin’s unique beauty hides a girl who’s troubled, broken, and even dangerous. And no matter how hard Grace fights to keep the magic, no friendship can withstand betrayal.

Cover Love:

 

 

 

Oh yes, I love this cover! 

 

 

Why I liked it: LIKE MANDARIN was one of the most beautifully written books I have read in a long time. It had the lyrical quality you find in a lot of literature, while still keeping the pace moving. The storyline sort of sneaks up on you, which I liked as well. There were no big action scenes – no huge EMO moments. And yet, it didn’t need them because as a reader I was so wrapped up in the beauty of the words that I didn’t feel like I needed the rest – if that makes sense. It was a wonderful well crafted story that epitomized, for me, what a character-driven story does – highlight the characters themselves without a fast paced plot.  The setting was like an additional character and beautifully described throughout the book. The ending was not what I expected, but I was not disappointed.

All in all, a beautiful read.

Where to find it:

I made some good headway on my TBR pile – or so I thought!!! There are just so many fabulous reads….

8 thoughts on “Man, I Just Love Like Mandarin – My Bookanista Post

Leave a Reply

