Liar Society Authors, Lisa and Laura Roecker, Share Their Advice for Kids

I am so excited to have two of may fav writerly peeps, Lisa and Laura Roecker, here to share their advice for kids:

Lisa and Laura Roecker are sisters-turned-writing-partners with a love of all things Young Adult. Some call it arrested development, but the sisters claim it keeps them young. Plus, it’s cheaper than Botox. Lisa and Laura live in Cleveland, Ohio, in separate residences. Their husbands wouldn’t agree to a duplex. THE LIAR SOCIETY is their first novel.

Take it away Roecker Sisters:

Never give up, but learn how to adapt.

Learn to adapt  – so profound in its simplicity, I think. LOVE IT!

Want to share your own advice for kids? Leave it in the comments or snatch the jpg and do your own post. I’ll be doing giveaways on Fridays throughout the month, giving various book swag prizes. So leave a comment and let me know if you do your own post!

For more great advice for kids, be sure to check out 101 Success Secrets for Kids – featuring advice from me and hundreds of kids about school, friends, family and life. The book features tip sheets, quizzes, and fun crafts all designed to help kids embrace life and live to their potential. Available from Prufrock Press, Amazon and booksellers everywhere.

How do you adapt when life gets intense?

7 thoughts on “Liar Society Authors, Lisa and Laura Roecker, Share Their Advice for Kids

  1. Thanks so much for having us Christine! We weren’t trying to be profound, just speaking from experience. Almost NOTHING ends up going the way we’d like it to, but that doesn’t mean you have to give up on your dreams. The key is learning how to reroute yourself when you hit a road block. We’re still learning how to do this ourselves, but if there’s one lesson we hope our kids learn, it’s this. Persistence is great, but it won’t get you far with you adaptability.

  2. How do I adapt? Um… With difficulty. Extreme difficulty. Screaming and kicking. “Stubborn” might be used to describe me on occasion.

    Really, I try to keep sight of what I want. And what I want at the end of the day is usually for everybody to be happy. And that usually means I have to be flexible, but so do they. So I do it. And then later, when I’m all by myself, I write angsty YA.🙂

    I think my advice to kids would be that “success” is more about living a fulfilling life than about having money or stuff.

Leave a Reply

