Fabu advice from Megan Miranda

Here we are, at the end of April! Can you believe the amazing advice we’ve had. This has been an absolute blast to do! I had originally planned to end the advice series today…but my friends are just too amazing and I have more advice to share. SO, the advice series will continue into my blog tour. Hey, it gives you something to read on my blog besides a list of where I am touring, right???

The contest for April, however, does end today. I’ll be posting winners of both the comment contest and the advice contest on Sunday. Monday start the epic tour! The schedule goes up Sunday as well. Personally, I think this has been a fabulous series – it has been so fun hearing everyone’s advice…and yea, I took notes as I clearly need to take some of that advice myself!

For today’s post, I bring you FRACTURE author, Megan Miranda.

Megan Miranda is a scientist – turned – teacher – turned – stay-at-home-mom – turned – writer. She is not nearly as indecisive as she sounds. She is represented by Sarah Davies at The Greenhouse Literary Agency. Her first novel, FRACTURE, will be published by Walker/Bloomsbury in early 2012.

Take it away Megan Miranda:

I’m not sure if this is a tip for success, really. But it is something I think about a lot. It’s something I believe played a large part in preparing me for my post-academic life. Which I guess is kind of the point.

So. My advice:

Do something you are not good at. Bonus points for doing something you are downright bad at. Horrible, even.

Do something that you struggle with, that does not come easily, that nobody praises you for.

No, really.

Of course, also do those things that you’re good at, or that you’re passionate about – which may or may not be the same thing. Do those things that come easily. Do those things that make people sit up and take notice.

But make sure you do something else, too. Something you have to really work for. That’s where you’ll learn the most about yourself.

For me, that was running. I wasn’t fast. I wasn’t born with endurance. I figured I couldn’t possibly run another mile. Or reach the top of that next hill. I couldn’t possibly get any faster.

But I did. Over time. With work. Eventually, I did.

Me, years later: I do not remember my GPA. I do not remember the names of the math and science awards I won. I do not even remember my SAT scores, which seemed so important at the time.

But I do remember the best 5k race I ever ran: 20 minutes, 50 seconds.

I did not win.

I never won.

But that’s not the point. The point, I think, is this: you’re not always racing someone else.

 

Want to share your own advice for kids? Leave it in the comments or snatch the jpg and do your own post. I’ll be doing giveaways on Fridays throughout the month, giving various book swag prizes. So leave a comment and let me know if you do your own post!

For more great advice for kids, be sure to check out 101 Success Secrets for Kids – featuring advice from me and hundreds of kids about school, friends, family and life. The book features tip sheets, quizzes, and fun crafts all designed to help kids embrace life and live to their potential. Available from Prufrock Press, Amazon and booksellers everywhere.

Come on back this weekend for the winners of the comment contest and the advice month-long series. And wait until you see the tour – full of vlogs, interviews and lots of giveaways! Be ready to par-tay.

7 thoughts on “Fabu advice from Megan Miranda

  1. Awesome advice. I’m always telling my daughter to expand her horizons – to try things she doesn’t like and stretch herself. I don’t know whether it’s working, but maybe someday she’ll look back and realize how much better life is if you push the envelope. =o)

  2. Larissa

    Wow, Megan. I have chills. I think that is my favorite of all the advice! (I haven’t been able to post everyday, but I’ve been reading.🙂

    Great series, Christine!

  3. Pingback: Fabu advice from Megan Miranda | CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR | MyMegalinks

Leave a Reply

