WiP Weds – Confessions of a Non-Writing Writer

Okay, yes, I’ll admit it….

I have NOT been writing.

I should be. I really should. I have all these goals I want to achieve. I have ideas brewing in my head and characters dying to be heard.

I’ve opened the file to the WiP. Many times over the past few weeks in fact. I’ve chatted with CPs and heard their encouraging words.

Yet still, I have NOT written.

What have I been doing instead?

Um…..

  • Tweeting
  • Facebook stalking
  • Obsessing over book sales for NF
  • Watching reality TV
  • Reading – a lot
  • Planning summer stuff

Pretty much anything but writing.

Dude! This is NOT GOOD.

So, as things wind down in my RL craziness, it is time to get serious and get back to writing – before my CPs and my characters inflict a little pain!

How do you get back on track?

Be sure to check out today’s blog tour stop with the ever-amazing Lisa and Laura Roecker. They asked me some fabu questions!

***Note – as many of you know, I schedule these posts the weekend before and DUDES! Guess what??? I AM WRITING – 2 days in a row now! WOOT. Of course, I have accomplished very little…but still. W-R-I-T-I-N-G.

11 thoughts on “WiP Weds – Confessions of a Non-Writing Writer

  1. Benoit

    Ah, ah, ah…I’m so far from the track that it looks like I’ve been lost my entire Life !!! LOL

    It’s not totally the same situation but I’ve given birth to my best riffs after months without touching my guitars.
    Sometimes you just need to disconnect…
    🙂

  2. Same here, although, I made May a writing break month, so I’m doing whatever I feel like. And right now I can’t make myself feel like writing. ^_^ June is when edits start, so I’m taking my chance to rest.

  3. Any writing is good. Right now, I’m in the same boat (well, not with the publication, but you know what I mean) and I got excited when I wrote one day last week. You take what you can get. I definitely feel a change coming, though. A good one. The wind’s blowing in the right direction and I just have to take advantage of it.

  4. Larissa

    I TOTALLY know how you feel. With three part-time jobs and three kids…yeah, writing time slips away before I know it. Plus, one of those jobs is a pre-k teacher, so, end-of-the-year-whoa is going on. Lol.

    But, like you, I actually found some time and got some writing done yesterday! Woot! It wasn’t much, but it felt great!🙂

  5. So glad to hear you’re writing! Can you pass some of that motivational mojo my way? kthx. What have I been doing? Just dealing with RL and barely, barely getting back online. *phew* I’ve felt so so lost without all my online buddies! Can’t wait to see you next month, btw!

  6. Nisa

    I just came out of that. I just sat myself in front of my WIP and began reading. I got excited about the story as I read and it made me want to finish the revisions. And if you’re feeling overwhelmed, set bite-sized goals to get back into it. Good luck!🙂

  7. It’s ok! You’re not the only one! I got off to a good start with the current WIP, but Real Life has really been hitting me hard lately. I’ve only been good for blog posts and TV-watching. I’m determined to get back on track, but I think I’ll need a little more sleep first.

    Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

