What an Amazing Bookanista Debut – Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

HAPPY THURSDAY everyone! I’m so excited to be talking about Bookanista Jessi Kirby’s fantastic debut, MOONGLASS, and giving away a signed copy. But before I get to that, I must scream…

VERONICA ROTH’s DIVERGENT IS #6 ON THE NYTimes LIST!!! GO VERONICA!

Okay, now that I got that out…Check out what we are reviewing this week:

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out for Jessi Kirby’s MOONGLASS (and be sure to stick around for a fabu giveaway at the end). I was lucky enough to be able to attend Jessi’s launch with several of the other Bookanista and other writerly peeps. Check out the pictures –

She held her launch in the fabu historic beach town referenced in her book. After signing some books at this great little store, she had a bunch of people over to her beach cottage – lt me tell you, it was like stepping right into Moonglass.

Yep, SO DARN MUCH FUN!

But now it’s time to introduce you to this amazing little book:

Release Date: May 3, 2011

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

When Anna was little, she and her mother used to search for sea glass, but since they looked at night, they called it moonglass. Now, ten years after her mother’s mysterious death, her father is working as head lifeguard on the same beach where her mother grew up and her parents first met and fell in love.Reluctant to get close to anyone (including her father) and not pleased about having to start at a new school, Anna begins to spend more time alone, running the length of the beach and wondering about who her mother really was. After meeting a lifeguard named Tyler, she slowly lets her guard down and together they start exploring the abandoned houses that dot the beach.

But when learning more about her mother’s past leads to a painful discovery, Anna must reconcile her desire for solitude with ultimately accepting the love of her family and friends.

Why I liked it:

I LOVED everything about this book – the writing, her PERFECT characterization of beach life in California, and the story. With every page I was drawn into a familiar world of surf and sand. The story wrapped around me, pulling on my heart-strings as I found myself seeing the story THROUGH the character’s eyes. And in the end, I cried right along with the main character. A truly AMAZING read on so many levels. In fact, I emailed Jessi the moment I finished the book just to tell her how profoundly touched I was by her story.

And I think you will feel the same once you’ve read it. But don’t take my word for it…decide for yourself. Enter my comment contest and maybe you’ll even win a signed copy! That’s right, I’m giving away a signed HB of the book –

Entering is easy – Simply leave a comment, follow my blog in someway and you’re entered. Want additional entries (up to 5)? Just do the following:

WOO HOO!!! I just love giving stuff away! Contest closes Sunday, 5/15 and I’ll post the winner next week. 

And don’t forget about the continuing blog tour for 101 Success Secrets for Gifted Kids. Today I am hanging out with Jennifer Merrill. It isn’t too late to enter the Blog Tour Contests either – just keep leaving comments throughout the tour.

So. Much.Fun!

19 thoughts on “What an Amazing Bookanista Debut – Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

  1. Carol

    Glad to hear you like it!! I have this book on my wishlist ^^ Thanks for this opportunity, count me in! I’m a follower/subscriber to the blog

  2. Vivien

    Thanks again! I follow your blog through email🙂
    I also signed up for your newsletter.

    Vivien
    deadtossedwaves at gmail dot com

  3. Brittany Gale

    Really interested in reading this one. Thanks for the giveaway. 🙂
    I follow via Network Blogs
    Brittany Gale

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

