Blog Chain: Finding my Muchness

It’s Blog Chain time again, and this time the topic comes from Michelle H, who asked us to:

Be positive! Name some of the positive aspects of your writing — be it a compliment from a mentor, friend or crit partner to anything special you learned concerning your writing skills.

Holy smokes! This was so very hard for me. I’m not really certain why. It isn’t that I think there’s nothing positive about my writing, I do. But talking about it…with all of you. Yea, THAT made me uncomfortable. Really really uncomfortable.

But, wow…what a great exercise. So, after wrestling with my feelings about singing my own praises, and coming to terms with my own muchness, here is my list of positives about my writing – the stories, the writing process, and the words themselves. This all came from emails I’ve gotten over the years from CPs, agent feedback and my own feelings:

(And yes, I think I need to print this out so I remember it when I am down)

  • The handful of peeps that have seen a tiny piece of my new project have described my most recent writing as lyrical and artistic, almost poetic. It is something I have really been working on in this current project – something I am so very happy with as well.
  • I know how to craft a page-turner, something with strong pacing and a story that compels the reader to keep reading.
  • Agent feedback has included phrases like “strong storytelling,” “beautiful way with words”, “compelling characters”
  • I am a “thinker” when it comes to writing – planning out the most subtle of details within the story. Not sure if this is a good thing or not, but it is what I do when I write.
  • I’ve been told I am good at character motivation and the emotional arc of a story.

The next couple of things are more about me as a writer, than my writing abilities:

  • I am crazy tenacious – A necessary character-trait in this business (and yes, I am certain one of my CPs is gonna haunt me with this one…)
  • I am more than willing to WORK HARD to reach my goals
  • I just don’t take “no” for an answer – I keep pushing ahead, if when wiser people may have quit.

So, there you go… my opinions regarding the strength of my writing and me as a writer.

For more on the topic, you can check out Shaun’s post a few days ago and Abby’s post tomorrow.  How do you describe your muchness??? Do you find it as hard as I do to talk about the positives?

11 thoughts on “Blog Chain: Finding my Muchness

  1. lol I totally answered this question wrong on my post, but I love yours😀 And I agree with everything you pointed out🙂 I think it’s important to recognize the things we do well. Great post🙂

  2. The longer I go without getting an agent, the harder it is to find the positives. When I started out, I was full of positives. Thinking about it this morning, finding them is like searching for a specific needle in a needlestack. After think hard about it, though, here’s what I came up with…

    Several agents have said they like my voice. The people who’ve read my books really seem to enjoy them and ask for more. I’m still being true to myself with my writing.

    It ain’t much in the way of positivity, but it’s a start. ;o)

  3. Tenacity counts for a lot in this biz, so I’m glad you’ve got it, Christine! I like to think that’s my biggest strength. Or maybe I’m confusing that with stubbornness.😉

    My writing strengths are definitely in the storytelling department, and describing settings.

    Great topic!

  4. Nisa

    Those are great, Christine! Way to own your strengths! It’s a good thing to do because so often we (and by “we” I mean “I”. haha!) focus on our weaknesses. (Honestly, that’s all I really see in myself. That’s why I like focusing on others instead. Whew! Much easier! And I have the desire to throw a hashtag in with a selfish behind it. Is that so wrong? lol)

  5. LOL, first off I just have to enjoy the word “muchness”. That’s so appropriate and yet so awesome. I completely understand what you mean when you say this question is hard. But you did a good job of it.

Leave a Reply

