I HEART INDIES Blogfest

Lisa and Laura Roecker are crazy amazing! They are the brains behind some of my fav things around the interwebz – agent love, editor love, the original Bookanista ideas (along with Elana J). So it is no big surprise when they wanted to start a love-fest for Indie Booksellers. I’m just glad they asked me to play along.

Indies are a dying breed – BUT SO SO SO NEEDED in this crazy world of publishing! They are booksellers that really focus on connecting readers to authors, all in the name of celebrating the book. I mean really, could anything be MORE necessary in our world right now? So, to sing some praises for the Indie booksellers, I wanted to spotlight two of my all-time favs.

Sadly, Indie booksellers have not done well in my neck of the woods. So, I drive an hour or more to visit an Independent Book Store. And yes, I am more than willing to do that for either of these two booksellers:

  1. Mysterious Galaxy – This store always has fabulous author events (including Cassie Clare’s launch party for City of Fallen Angels), features midlist authors that the big stores may not be carrying, and carry a great range of books. Specializing in speculative fiction, there is no shortage of amazing new reads at this beloved bookstore.
  2. Vromans – Tauted as “Southern California’s Oldest and Largest Independent Bookseller”, I literall grew up in this store, coming for many of their weekly events. Vroman’s was my mother’s favorite bookstores – not just for the bookish events which she took me to, but for the beautiful children’s section. Even after I left home and mom moved out of state, we would come backt California and make a trip to Vroman’s every chance we got. This is a store that really gets it right with a wide breadth, pleasant atmosphere and amazing booksellers.

The next time you are in Southern California, check these booksellers out. You won’t be disappointed.

For more amazing Indie love, check out Lisa and Laura’s blog for the list of everyone participating in the blogfest, and for a chance to win books. WOOT!!! Also, spread the love via twitter using the #IheartIndies throughout the day today and help show our love for the Independent Booksellers that help enable us to do what we love – bring stories to readers!

What is your favorite Indie bookseller?

9 thoughts on “I HEART INDIES Blogfest

  1. The Book Loft is the only book store in the Santa Ynez Valley where I live and I love them. When we’re in Santa Barbara we go to Chaucer’s. Funny thing is, Borders and Barnes & Noble no longer exist in Santa Barbara. Chaucer’s outlasted them! Woo-hoo!

  2. Love to hear about new idies. And you picked the same one as Shannon so it must be awesome! Please stop by and check out my indie pick as well.
    Gail

  3. Yay! I love this!

    My favorite is Powell’s books in Portland, OR. They are a chain, but independently owned, funky, weird, and completely AWESOME! Neil Gaiman signed the wall at my favorite location. It doesn’t get better than that.

Leave a Reply

