Summer Eats – An easy way to enjoy berries

Okay, I know I said I was posting recipes on Fridays, but I have some special events planned over the next couple of Fridays, so I’m doing a recipe post today…

About Berries.

See, I love berries – Strawberries, Blueberries, Blackberries – I love them all!  This recipe is one of my favs and a great way to enjoy summer fruit. 

Minted Fruit

Make a syrup of 3 tablespoons sugar, 1/3 cup water and about 5 fresh mint leaves. Heat until the sugar is fully dissolved and let simmer for about 6 minutes. Cool for at least 30 minutes.

While the syrup is cooling, combine 6 cups of sliced nectarines, 1 cup raspberries and 1 cup blueberries. (You can adjust the fruit combos and amounts to suit your personal taste)

Pour cooled syrup over the fruit and lightly toss. ENJOY!

(**Adapted from “Minted Melon Medley“, Pampered Chef Casual Cooking, p. 37)

Do you have a favorite summer fruit recipe?

3 thoughts on “Summer Eats – An easy way to enjoy berries

  1. My daughter is a mint freak, so she’d love that recipe. Poor girl lives with me and doesn’t get enough mint. I’ll pass it along to her, so she can make it for herself. =o)

    My favorite fruit recipe is simple – strawberries with sugar, or if I’m trying to watch what I eat, raw and dipped in fat free whipped cream. Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

