Early Childhood Characteristics of Potential Giftedness

I was ready a recent review of Emotional Intensity in Gifted Students the other day. While the overall review was fine, the reviewer was left wanting more tips and suggestions for early childhood.

Okay, fair enough. I can do that.

But first, I thought I’d present some of the more common early childhood indicators that you have a gifted toddler.

Like the characteristics I have pointed out in my books and other posts, much of the early indicators of giftedness relate to both cognitive and emotional intensity.

Here are the more common attributes of gifted infants and toddlers:

  • Early walkers and talkers
  • Very alert
  • Gets very fussy if facing in the same direction for too long (think crib)
  • Demonstrates a strong desire to explore and learn
  • Easily bored with toys and things
  • Shows a strong preference for new things.
  • Easily frustrated with familiar objects
  • Highly intense
  • Early reading or math skills
  • Demonstrates an early and high interest in numbers and letters
  • Lots of “why” questions
  • Emotional intensity – may be highly sensitive to their environment, for example

In the next few posts I will be highlighting some strategies for working with gifted toddlers through first grade. Stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “Early Childhood Characteristics of Potential Giftedness

  1. Christine, in a year we’ll be moving to a new place and if we get the post we want, I’ll be putting Xander into a gifted program instead of homeschooling him. Do you think you could do a post on the ins and outs of this? Places where I can research what the programs should be like? Will he be with kids his age or older kids? I know nothing and I’m not sure where to search to get the answers. I’m not sure what to expect. At all. I don’t know if this is something you can help with or not, but I thought I’d ask. I’m sure that type of post would help a lot of people. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Early Childhood Characteristics of Potential Giftedness | Γονείς σε Δράση

  3. Pingback: Wisconsin’s Gifted Education Week 2012: 50 Shades of Gifted | Gifted in Wisconsin

Leave a Reply

