Some of my favorite books about GT kids

Hi everyone!  I get asked questions about good books for GT kids, parents and educators all the time. So I thought I’d present my top five (In no particular order).

Now, obviously, I am pretty proud of my current titles – Emotional Intensity in Gifted Students and 101 Success Secrets for Gifted Kids. But, I read a ton and there are several other books that are the foundation of my GT library, including these top 5:

5 – Misdiagnosis and Dual Diagnosis of Gifted Children and Adults by James T Webb

A must read for anyone involved in the treatment and care of gifted children.  This book help to distinguish between the maze of characteristics for gifted people and those with mental health concerns, including ADD, OCD, and depression.

 

4 – Living With Intensity by Susan Daniels

Considered groundbreaking, this book looks at the intensity most gifted children and adults live with every day.  Presented with research and proven therapeutic strategies, it is a great book for understanding why gifted kids are so intense.

3 – 5 levels of Gifted: School Issues and Educational Options by Deborah Ruff

This book reviews the developmental stages of gifted children and includes practical strategies and advice for educational options.

 

 

2 –The Mislabeled Child: Looking Beyond Behavior to Find the True Sources and Solutions for Children’s Learning Challenges by Brock and Fernette Eide

Another great resource looking and misdiagnosis and overdiagnosis – this book takes a holistic look at children, and help parents and others look and the strengths and weaknesses of the child’s learning in order to develop a plan of action for working with the child. Not strictly for GT kids, this is a must in any library.

1 – A Parent’s Guide to Gifted Children by James T Webb, et al

My all-time favorite book for parents.  A bit intimidating, this is THE book for research-based answers to everything from school performance to mental health concerns.

There you have it… Some of my must reads. What books would you add? And more importantly, what books would you like to see? I am working on some new projects, so I would love to hear your thoughts…

 

4 thoughts on “Some of my favorite books about GT kids

  1. Great list.

    I’ve never read that “Living with Intensity” book, but can’t wait to get my hands on it. Unfortunately we’re traveling now and it’s not available in a Kindle format. Too bad, because I could use it RIGHT NOW.😉

Leave a Reply

