Talking about GT Kids

As I mentioned on Monday, this week marks ONE YEAR since the release of Emotional Intensity. As part of the original launch, I wrote several guest posts about GT kids, emotional intensity and parenting. On post focusing on why GT kids can be so intense and what I mean by emotional intensity. The original post was on My friend Lisa Amowitz’s blog. For the complete post, click here.

That post focused on one of the most common characteristics of gifted individuals – Emotional Intensity. I started that post with the following poem – one that encapsulates what I mean my emotional intensity perfectly:

The truly creative mind in any field is no more than this:

A human creature born abnormally, inhumanly sensitive.
To him…
a touch is a blow,
a sound is a noise,
a misfortune is a tragedy,
a joy is an ecstasy,
a friend is a lover,
a lover is a god,
and failure is death.

– Pearl Buck

Perfect, Yes!

How would you describe emotional intensity?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Talking about GT Kids

  1. Emotional intensity for me is like playing football with no pads. The thrill is still there, but it is always short lived as I feel I’m going to get hit again really soon. Don’t get me wrong, the thrills are amazing and it’s what I live for. Being in Flow, living in the moment that holds a lifetime in such a short span of time, it’s fantastic, but it’s powerful stuff in all directions.

Leave a Reply

