More grateful than ever

I’ve been seeing loads of gratitude come through my Facebook feed this month. A large number of my friends are posting daily declarations of what they are grateful for. I haven’t jumped on this particular bandwagon, though. It pains me to admit it, but I didn’t want the added stress of wracking my brain to find something for which I am grateful. It’s not that I don’t count my blessings; my 2012 Word of the Year is grateful and I do write about it on occasion. I just couldn’t handle a daily mind search, and the guilt that would accompany a increasingly difficult hunt.

But this week I have been grateful for everything in my life. On Monday I learned that a young man in our homeschool coop collapsed and passed away the day before. I knew this boy a bit, only 14, as he was in a class with my son and in a class in which I assisted. Sweet, sensitive, kind, a calming presence. My son and I have been reeling since hearing the news, and our next coop meeting (today, and the last day of the session at that) is bound to be challenging. A homeschool coop of intense, gifted kids, full of every over-excitability imaginable…challenging may be an understatement.

My priorities and blessings rushed to the forefront this week. I am unimaginably blessed, even as I am challenged far beyond what I consider reasonable. I don’t need to list them all here, as I’m sure you can imagine the gratitude list that suddenly filled every surface of my mind. I am guilty of getting caught up in the minutiae of my daily life and forgetting that, when all is said and done, I’m one hell of a blessed and lucky woman. Something I need to remember a little more often.

And go hug your kids for me. I’d be grateful if you did.

One thought on “More grateful than ever

  1. The thing is, we can’t live our lives thinking that suddenly our children might collapse and die. Being grateful for them has to be separate from the panic of losing them. Wanting to drop kick my 8yo and wanting to keep him safe from all possible harm are totally compatible in my world.

Leave a Reply

