Appreciating Family and Beauty

I am sitting here in our hotel room on November 22,  the eve of my 16th wedding anniversary. My husband and I and our eleven-and-three-quarters-old daughter left Monday and drove from our home in Southern California to Portland, Oregon where our twenty-one-year-old daughter moved to in July. We arrived late Tuesday evening. On the first leg of our trip, we stopped overnight in Redding, CA and got to have breakfast the next day with my best friend from high school and her two kids. It was fantastic seeing her. It felt like we picked up right where we left off. I was fantasizing about us living near each other and meeting for coffee a few times a month.

In Portland, our daughter showed us around town. We had Thai for dinner and the next day, Indian food from a street cart. We visited the Japanese Gardens and Powell’s Bookstore. The entire time, I had this undercurrent of pain, due to a minor procedure I had to undergo the Friday before our trip and also just due to being out of shape and not used to walking for long periods of time. And yet…….I was able to appreciate the beauty of the Gardens, the amazing eclectic art all around the city. I’m cutting this post short because I want to spend time with family, with my daughter who I haven’t seen since she left in July and who knows when I’ll get to see her again, and because tomorrow is my anniversary.

 

Leave a Reply

