Tryin’ to Get That Feelin’ Again

Yes, I went there. I used a Barry Manilow song title for this blog post. Due to recent events in the news, which I think most of us are aware, I am having a difficult time finding a way to write about “Joy” again this month. (Notice that I’m posting this much later in the day than normal.) It’s possible I’m also having trouble because the rebel in me balks at being given a topic to write about. On the other hand, the competitor in me enjoys the challenge of a topic.

Let’s see… I get joy from writing. I also get joy from knitting, crocheting, drawing, reading, watching a good movie, spending time with my family. I’ve noticed lately, that I’m getting more enjoyment (does that count as “joy?”  It has “joy” in it…) from knitting and crocheting than from writing or even reading. Normally, it goes in cycles, but this year, my interest has leaned more toward my knitting and crochet projects.

My 22-year-old daughter is visiting from Portland, OR (we’re in Southern California) until the 30th, so of course I’m very happy about that! It’s okay that she’s been spending much of her time visiting her friends, because she is still nearby. She is spending time with her little sister and her twin brother. She is doing a project making a dream catcher art piece and  incorporating the seven chakras.  She also keeps a journal in which she writes, draws and paints with watercolors. I look at her with all this art and creativity in her life and I think, “Yes. This.”

560682_10151254355188530_413730567_n
My creative daughter, Amanda. One of the joys in my life.

Leave a Reply

