Happy Valentine’s and a GIVEAWAY!

Hi all!

I hope everyone is enjoying their Valentine’s Day. I have really enjoyed reading this months posts related to the heart and being gifted.  In fact, I’ve enjoyed it SO MUCH – and enjoyed the wonderful conversations that have been happening on the blog so much that I’ve decided to offer a little giveaway for the long weekend.

From now until Monday, 2/18, I will be hosting a giveaway for a print copy of IF I’M SO SMART, WHY AREN’T THE ANSWERS EASY???

Here is a little bit about the book:

Based on surveys with more than 5,000 gifted young adults, If I’m So Smart, Why Aren’t the Answers Easy? sheds light on the day-to-day experiences of those growing up gifted. In their own enlightening words, teens share their experiences with giftedness, including friendships and fitting in with peers, school struggles and successes, and worries about the future. By allowing teens to share their real-life stories, the book gives readers a self-study guide to the successes and pitfalls of being gifted in a world not always open to their unique and diverse needs. Teens will be able to reflect on their own experiences through the engaging journal prompts included in the book, and their parents and teachers will enjoy hearing directly from other students about the topics gifted teens face daily.

Entering is easy – just leave a comment on THIS post between now and Monday, Feb 18. I will pick one random commenter to win. Easy Peasy, right.

Good luck and be sure to spread the word (and leave another comment each time you do!).

And have a wonderful Valentine’s and President’s Day weekend!

17 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s and a GIVEAWAY!

  1. Tamara Peterson

    My 10 year old daughter is gifted and watching her struggle socially is so tough. Especially when her 8 year old sister, who is a smart kid but not to the extent of her sister, socially excels. I honestly didn’t know there were even books to address the issues with raising gifted kids. Definitely gonna be looking into them. Thank you for the giveaway!

  2. Gordy

    Thanks for the salt in the wounds.

    I know that’s not your intention, but I don’t understand why you are so blind to other peoples misery. Clearly you don’t seem to realise that lonely celibates, some of them divorced or otherwise failed in their last relationship, or people that are in one with not much love or even more dislike, often hate Valentine. Like I wrote recently on Mygiftedlife: “I detest positive selfism. Hurray! I’m happy. I’m rich. I’m beautiful. I’m strong. What everybody else feels, I don’t care. If you feel bad because I feel good and shout it from the roof tops, that’s your problem.” A part of me wants to be in your situation. Another part hopes that one day you’ll learn what it feels like to be me.

    Tomorrow Valentine. Never experienced this in a positive way ;-(”

    And meanwhile those who are lonely should act as if they are not, and applaud those that flaunt their happiness? That’s like a poor person with a empty stomach supporting somebody who wants to break the world record eating 108 hamburgers. No, it should be the other way. Give presents to those who divorce, not that marry.
    I expect gifted people to know what’s going on in the world. And be critical about all things that are obligated and unnecessary, fake, cause harm, illogical… Well, it’s not necessary to phone a radio station to ask the dj to tell one”s partner you love him or her. She or he knows that already. It’s not necessary to to buy a big car that consumes a lot of petrol. Even if you can afford that. Because the world is in danger of pollution, and the higher the consumption, the higher the prices fotr those who have a hard time to pay for theirs.

  3. krista1220

    This would be a great book for me, I like all of your writings. However, it would be even more useful for all the parents of gifted kids with whom I work. Happy Valentine’s Day! Thank you for the camaraderie And validation you bring every week.

  4. Gordy

    Don’t guess. Ask. And not necessary Dabrowski, just existential. Besides, I’m not dealing, just expressing what I think is wrong with the world and people. Especially those who should think more critically than most. And often don’t.

  5. I could really do with this book for my library…. have had a number of parents looking for material for their teens (myself included… teehee) thanks for all your words and work Christine….

  6. momofthree

    I have a sweet 14 year old son who is passionate about life. As he enters the turbulent and already emotional years of being a teenager, I have looked for books to help us on this journey.

  7. Zannie

    I would love to have this book in my library. We ordered “Emotional Intensity..” and your book for gifted kids, “101 success secrets”. We were struggling so much until you opened our eyes to the world of gifted intensities in both ourselves and our kids. Thank you so much for writing about on this subject it has helped us immensly.

  8. Passion and gifts do not guarantee success… I’d love to add this to my library. For personal and professional reasons, I’ve been reading a great deal lately on intensity, mis- and dual-diagnosis, Linda Silverman’s new Gifted 101, and more. Thanks for writing about this timely and important topic.

Leave a Reply

