The Creative Soul

It’s interesting that this post is late getting posted, especially given the topic of creativity. See, I have a very creative approach to life. And like many creative-types, especially those of us who are both creative and gifted (two things that very frequently go hand-in-hand), my intensities have a way of running amok when I have not taken the time to nourish my creativity.

What do I mean by that?

Well, as a creative soul, there are certain things that I need: Periodic solitude, a respite from the day-to-day stressors so that I can renew; opportunities to feed my creativity including “play time”, trips into nature, and pursuing my many interests; daily clearing of my thoughts in some way; opportunities for daily reflection, and creative outlets. If I deny myself any of these activities, either because life has gotten too busy or because I’ve rationalized that I don’t really need these things, I find myself becoming agitated, frustrated and even more intense (if that is possible). This then leads to a decrease in the things I need to creatively renew, and so on and so forth, until I find myself creatively bankrupt.

And trust me – that is no place anyone wants to be!

It has taken me a long time to realize that as a creative soul I need to above mentioned things as part of my regular healthy habits, just like I need food and sleep (which, incidentally, also suffers when those creative needs go wanting). But, as someone who has suffered creative burnout in the past, I am coming to terms with the fact that I need to honor this aspect of myself and nourish my creative soul.

What about you? Do you honor yours?

Author: Christine Fonseca

Critically acclaimed author of edgy YA fiction, psych thrillers, and nonfiction self-help books. Drinker of skinny vanilla lattes. Lover of life. Titles include Lacrimosa, Transcend (both for YA) and The Girl Guide (non fiction for teen girls)

One thought on “The Creative Soul”

  1. I don’t know! Every day this week, I’ve said, “Okay, today is the day I’m going to spend the whole day working on the crochet sweater I’ve started.” and everyday, I do other things –a much larger portion of the time than I would like to admit spent playing Candy Crush alternating between the Facebook app and the android app on my phone. I may need an intervention. Is there a rehab clinic for this? And I LIKE to crochet! I can watch TV while I crochet!

Leave a Reply

