What a difference a year makes

Fifteen months ago we pulled our then 10-year-old son from public school and jumped into the grand homeschooling adventure. While it has not been an easy road (read: I am going to lose my mind if I have any more conversations about Minecraft, a game I refuse to purchase), it has changed my son’s life.

This month’s theme of Enrichment and Creativity lent itself well to me looking back and taking stock. Back when he was still in school, I had to do a lot of afterschooling to pick up the slack. Not only was I reteaching many of his lessons in a way he could grasp, but I was providing tutoring and experiences and opportunities he wasn’t getting in school. Now I call that Wednesday…or pretty much any day of the week.

Because of this, he’s a different kid now. A year ago he was withdrawn and anxious. Today he is almost back to his curious and enthusiastic self. I pray that remains as he slams into adolescence; he’s 13 months from 13 God have mercy on me. I no longer have to enrich his learning because everything I did is now called school. Fun additions are lessons. Curiosity and creativity are encouraged, not brushed aside in favor of test prep. Best of all? Learning is fun again.

I never expected to be a homeschooling mom. Then again, I never expected to have a twice-exceptional son and go through absolute hell trying to educate him like everyone else. I like this way so much better. Enrichment is just…the norm. And it’s flat-out awesome.

3 thoughts on “What a difference a year makes

  1. Good for you. And congratulations. I made the choice to pull my daughter out of public school when she was failing the 6th grade, and I wish I’d done it sooner. The years we homeschooled weren’t easy but it was the right choice. I hope your son soars.

  2. JanisDayle

    Every homeschooling parent should be congratulated on dedicating themselves heart and soul to their children’s futures. I, too, have not one, but two twice exceptional boys – labelled “little Einsteins” by friends and neighbors before school, then labelled uneducable by the school system. Only the school psychologist seemed to really “get it” that they wouldn’t exactly “thrive” in special education. I, unfortunately did not hear the 2E designation until meeting a dear friend who educated me and helped me see the potential in my awesome kids. (My older son decided to return to school and now this “uneducable” student is on High Honor Roll.)
    This is only one of many reasons the educational system needs to be revamped. IN the meantime, many of us must (or choose to) home school and private school to save our special, wonderful, sometimes brilliant kids so that they can become successful assets to society (and will they ever be!),
    Thank you for the article that you wrote. Sometimes I feel like I am on a very lonely island with my kids who defy the existing categories that are used in most of the educational jargon. It is really important to get the word out there, that new ways of thinking and “categorizing” or more importantly, “not categorizing” must become accepted and common in our discussions.

Leave a Reply

