The Art of Taking Breaks

Welcome to the second week of the new blog layout. I am really hoping you are enjoying it so far. Today I wanted to talk a little bit about taking breaks – from life, work, the internet, whatever. Last Friday I committed to a healthier life. Of course this weekend, that resolve was immediately tested. Not only with food issues, but with real life obstacles to gaining emotional and spiritual balance. 

Never one to throw off a challenge, I focused on my pledge and let-go of the things that were presenting as barriers. But that is all a conversation for another day. Today, we are talking about the end result of the weekend’s challenge – the reminder that everyone needs a break from time to time.

As you can tell from the title of the blog, I am a very intense person. it is an aspect of my giftedness I have only recently embraced, finally deciding to see it as a good thing and not merely a source of endless frustration. My intensity enables me to get more done in a day than most people, engage with life in deep and fulfilling ways, and approach life with creativity. It also means I am prone to significant burnout when I do not remember to grant myself the gift of taking breaks – from life, from writing, from blogging. Everything.

So, knowing my tendency to overdo, part of my commitment to being healthy includes taking a break from blogging and my internet connections one week per month.

For this blog,n that will mean that next week I am going dark. I invite all of you to join me in an internet break. Take time away from your digital connections to reconnect in person. Allow yourselves the gift of time, of a break, of renewal.

What do you think? Do you take breaks?

4 thoughts on “The Art of Taking Breaks

  1. eviee1

    Hi
    I first of all would like to say awesome blog so well done you! Secondly that’s a great plan you are trying to achieve, as in this life of modern technology and how it influences and sometimes takes control of our daily life, we sometimes need to take time out and step away from it where possible. At the moment I have to admit that I CAN’T step away for a week because I need it for work but I do try and have day where I stay away from it. Not that it always works out that way but I do try.
    Good luck🙂

      1. eviee1

        I know not that easy when you use it for work purposes is it!? Yeah I can see why that would help, sometimes you do need quiet time don’t you?🙂

Leave a Reply

