Discovering Your Passions

I am so excited to be getting back to a regular posting schedule. Today, Monday, is all about living authentically, renewing your spirit and gratitude. And what better way to do that then living a passionate life?

I have always believed that being an intense person meant living a life of passion. At times, the passion can be all consuming, derailing intention and plans as the passions turn inward and usurp energy and drive. For me, this happens when I am unclear on my goals or, more likely, when my fears or confidence issues work against me. Seldom does my intensity work against me when I am following my dreams or living my life with purpose and intention.

So, in keeping with my goal to live gently in 2013, I wanted take some time at the start of the year to really focus on my passions and live with those in mind throughout the year.

Enter the Passion Test. I’ve been a long time follower of Chris and Janet Attwood. Their newsletter and blog posts have kept me inspired for more than two years. So it is a bit surprising that it took me this long to finally take their Passion Test and dedicate myself to focusing on my passions. But, well…it did!

I took the test for the first time last week – and it has already positively shaped the year! The test, if you really want to call it that, is simple enough – make a list of the ten things that would give your life meaning and purpose if money, etc was not an issue. This is a chance to dream and DREAM BIG. List everything that has meaning to you. Then you whittle the list down through a specific process until you get to the top five passions.

There is a little more to it that you can investigate on their website and through the book, but you get the gist of it.

What a fabulous experience for me. My passions included things related to my writing life, my spiritual life, and my health. It was different from I had expected and perfect for me! And I have to say, since starting down this road, things are working more harmoniously in my life. I AM living the principles more effortless than I’d imagined.

So, if you’re interested in discovering your path to your life purpose, why not start here. Being intense human beings, we are prone to extreme passions in diverse areas of our lives. Why not harness that energy and direct it toward the things that fuel our lives, help others, and improve the planet.

That’s what I’m doing, at any rate.

What about you? Have you discovered your passions? Your purpose?

Leave a Reply

