The Value of Taking Breaks

Well, my regular posting schedule was a bit of an overstatement I think. The truth: January has left me sick for the majority of the month. The good news, after a few relapses, I “think” I am back among the living!

For today’s renewal post, I want to talk about the art of taking breaks – from everything: Routine, work, digital life…

You get the picture.

As most of you know, I decided to focus on Living Gently for 2014. Getting my body healthy as a way to kick off the year was an unplanned blessing as it has forced me to focus on being balanced and living a life that embraces what it means to me to be in balance and live gently.

I live a full and rich life. This also means it is an often busy and unbalanced on. I spend too much time online, to much time “working” in some capacity, and don’t often remind myself to take needed breaks to just…be.

Enter 2014. A huge part of living my passions and being balanced is about creating moments in which the blogging, the online grind, all of it comes to a stop and I just unplug. So, every month or so, I am unplugging from both blogs and the majority of my online presence. This time is my renewal time – my opportunity to life gently and remind myself how to just…BE.

Next week will be the first unplugging week of the year. Maybe some of you will join me, if not for the week, for part of it – long enough to find your balance again.

I’ll return in February with posts about love and relationships (seemed a fitting Feb topic!). In the meantime, I will be here the remainder of this week, talking about restarting passions and teaching your kids about finding their unique voices.

See you later this week!

Leave a Reply

