Making a Change

As some of you may know, I left my job as a school psychologist after 18 years earlier this month. It’s been a surreal transition to a consulting job, working with school districts. Although much of the skills I used in my former role come into play, I am now traveling across the state to work with a variety of districts. It is work I deeply enjoy. And, it is somewhat freeing to my time and my creativity. My stress levels are reduced as I am able to focus now on the things I love to do most – coaching, consulting, problem-solving. I can let go of the things that bothered me in my previous position.

A dream job.

That isn’t the only change I’ve made recently. As the job frees up my creativity and time, I am now able to expand some of my parenting and child coaching practices and increase the time I give to writing and book events. I’ve added a few clients, began giving book chats again and started a few new proposals for upcoming books. It’s a time of deep productivity. You can check out my website to know more about my events, or contact me directly to ask about presenting at your function or inquire about coaching.

As my time fills with more of the things I love to do and my mind frees, I realize just how blocked I’ve been. Has that ever happened to you? Have you become blocked to your own goals by the goals of others or the obligations on your plate? I’m sure that it has. As a creative, intense, and gifted adult, I pay a steep price when I am blocked. It impacts my ability to sleep, my physical and emotional shelves, and even my faith. I do not make major changes easily (part of it is a loyalty thing). But as I become more in touch with my authentic self, I understand my need to live from a place of “flow” and authenticity.

If you are finding that you are out of sync with your goals or your own happiness, maybe it is time to contemplate making a change and pulling yourself into alignment. You’ll be thankful you did!

6 thoughts on “Making a Change

  1. I think leaving your job and making this change was very brave and I love it.

    I’m excited by the new opportunities you’ve got now – mainly the reconnecting with your own goals. I need to double check that I’m on my OWN path too – and not someone else’s.

    Keep us posted on all you have going on and where your road takes you!

  2. Jodi Curtis

    You are reconnecting with your authentic self by listening then following your passions. And yes I feel you have many passions and you have ignited this journey. I am extremely happy for you as you have had such a significant and life-changing impact on my life in both the light and dark places I have traveled. So excited for you to go out and share your fabulousness with the world and see what you accomplish next!

Leave a Reply

