First – the fun news. Over the weekend I received a cool award from two terrific fellow writers, NewToWritingGirl and OwlandSparrow (be sure to check out their blogs…very nice.  They both managed to give me the Prolific Blogger Award, and I am deeply honored!

     The award originally comes from this blog.  And it comes with rules:

1. Every winner of the Prolific Blogger Award has to pass on this award to at least seven other deserving prolific bloggers. Spread some love!

2. Each Prolific Blogger must link to the blog from which he/she has received the award.

3. Every Prolific Blogger must link back to This Post, which explains the origins and motivation for the award.

4. Every Prolific Blogger must visit this post and add his/her name in the Mr. Linky, so that we all can get to know the other winners.

Okay – now the HARD part…who to give it to. Well, I figure, since I got it twice, I should get to name 14 other blogs…right? So, in no particular order, here are my 14 bloggers that are prolific, full of fun, wise or otherwise entertaining advice…blogs I frequent OFTEN (which is saying something, since I don’t frequent a million blogs daily like some of my closest friends)

Whew….that was a lot of work! 

Okay, now for the second part of this post…Waiting.

I know, I know…it is the dreaded topic. And one we, as writers, deal with a lot.

We wait to hear from our betas and crit partners.

We wait to hear from potential agents.

We wait to hear about revisions.

And the waiting doesn’t end after we find the agent, either. In fact, now we really learn the meaning of wait…because…

We wait to hear about our submissions

We wait to hear about our edits

We wait

Wait

Wait

Yeah, I know, You get the point.

So, what do you arm yourself with when you are stuck waiting.

Me – I try to be healthy – spend my time running, meditating, reading a good book ( or ten), writing something new, play Rock Band with the family, get out and live a little (so I have new stuff for new stories).

Invariable, however, no matter how hard I try, the waiting gets to be and I have to break out the chocolate and whine with my friends.

What do you do to combat the waiting??? Any tips I need to add to my list?

10 thoughts on “Awards, waiting, and other scream-worthy things.

  1. Hey! My name blog is on that list. Thanks!

    My suggestion would be to fill the time with a new project. But you already said that, so…hmmm. I fill my time by writing music, making videos and photography.

  2. Awww thanks for the award!! And I do the same thing as you when I get stuck waiting. First of all, I generally email you with some mega whining 😀 Then I try and stay busy with other projects, my family, and a few good books 🙂 By the way, be prepared for an email in the near future – the silence is getting to me!!!

  3. Cool award! Congrats. And thanks for passing it to me.

    Ah, waiting. It’s the hardest thing on the earth. I try to remind myself that news will come when it will come, and I’ll be ready when it does. Yeah, that never works, but it’s a nice thought, right? LOL!

    Basically, I freak out.

  4. Thanks, Christine. What a pleasant surprise! Your blog definitely fits the award! It’s vibrant and helpful and makes the blogging community a better place.

    As for waiting, well, life has me doing that in more ways than writing. I just do a lot of positive thinking, but sometimes you just have to fill a few minutes with tears. I do try and stay busy though. That really does help.

  5. According to “them,” I shouldn’t spend any time waiting, I should simply move on with my next writing project. That’s like telling me to forget about eating even though I’m starving and I have no idea if Mom is going to serve up Hogwarts’ vomit-flavored candy or roast beef.

  6. Congrats on the awards! You’re about to get another one once I get my act together.

    Your list pretty much covers it all for me: running, chocolate, whinning, reading, and working on a new project.

Leave a comment