natural-phenomenaI was trolling through various quotes and things and stumbled across this little story. 

What are the Seven Wonders of the World?
By: Author Unknown 

 *** NOTE*** – although I could not find the original author of this piece, a wonderful commenter left a comment stating that the author was Joy Garrison Wasson, who taught English in Muncie, IN for more than 30 years. THANK YOU Susan, for letting me know!!!

A group of students was asked to list what they thought
were the present “Seven Wonders of the World.” Though there
were some disagreements, the following received the most
votes:

1. Egypt’s Great Pyramids
2. Taj Mahal
3. Grand Canyon
4. Panama Canal
5. Empire State Building
6. Saint Peter’s Basilica
7. China’s Great Wall

While gathering the votes, the teacher noticed that one
quiet student hadn’t turned in her paper yet. So she asked
the girl if she was having trouble with her list. The girl
replied, “Yes, a little. I couldn’t quite make up my mind
because there were so many.”

The teacher said, “Well, tell us what you have, and maybe
we can help.”

The girl hesitated, then read, “I think the ‘Seven Wonders
of the World’ are:

1. to see
2. to hear
3. to touch
4. to taste
5. to feel
6. to laugh
7. and to love.”

The room was so quiet you could have heard a pin drop.

I share this as a reminder to take stock of everything you have in your life and let it be your muse – your source of inspiration!

Happy writing (or reading…).

8 thoughts on “The Seven Wonders and other inspirational things

  1. To see…to love. They are the real 7 wonders, without which we wouldn’t appreciate the wonders of this world.

    Thanks for this post.

    God bless,

    Lori

  2. I’ve read this before so pretty much suspected that you were going to repeat it … Yet I still read on with a smile on my face because this is perhaps one of the most beautiful things every written. It’s simple, I know. But I love it. It is so, so true.

    Thanks for sharing it with us!

  3. I know the author of piece The Seven Wonders. The original author of this vignette is Joy Garrison Wasson. She taught English in Muncie, IN for over thirty years. She died last October 15, 2009, at Ball Memorial Hospital after a long illness. She was only 62.
    Please acknowledge her as the source of the story. Thanks!

Leave a comment