There have been some amazing posts across the interwebs of late – posts about the dark side of this biz. The emotional side.

Natalie Whipple’s inspirational post about her struggles. Or Beth Revis’ post about some of the feelings she wrestles with daily.

I know from my conversations with my own CPs and writerly friends that this biz is not for the faint of heart. It demands everything from you emotionally. Everything.

And maybe that’s okay.

Maybe it’s okay that we get to experience difficult emotions as we struggle to decide if we were meant to stay on this path.

Maybe the tears we shed are okay.

Maybe it’s okay that we have to come to terms with some of the more difficult aspects of who we are –

The part that gets jealous. The part that doubts and fears deeply. The part with no confidence in our own abilities.

Maybe it’s through the experiencing of these emotions that we find our deeper creative selves.

Maybe.

What do you think?

32 thoughts on “The long road

  1. Uh, yeah, I’m at that “I hate everything I’ve written” part of the cycle. Yuck. BUT, I still have hope the “Yeah, I’m digging this” will come back, LOL!

    It helps to have a supportive community. Seriously, without all the blogs, forums, CP’s, and helping hands, it would be near impossible to keep going, especially with all the negatives of the biz.

    Nice post!

  2. >Maybe it’s through the experiencing of these emotions that we find our deeper creative selves.< Absolutely! Terrific and important point. The best writing shares deep truths about the human condition. It's easy to forget that. What kind of books would we write if we were always happy?

  3. I think the struggle makes it all the sweeter when you DO find that success. No matter how depressing it gets, you can’t give up because sometimes what you’re looking for is literally just around the corner.

  4. This biz does demand a lot from you emotionally, Christine, you are so right. I’ve been feeling drained some days, and other days I’m just feeling fortunate I’ve made it as far as I have.

    Posts like yours, Beth’s and Natalie’s do help. They really do, no maybes about it. So please don’t stop. 🙂

  5. So…I just want to say “thank you” to all the writers.
    I love books and I love reading. I am not a writer so I’m not part of the club.
    I am a reader.

    To you, writers :
    I love or I do not love your book, it’s just a matter of taste (of my), but without you, the writers, I wouldn’t have the pleasure to read books.
    Tank you all.

  6. I think struggling through all the emotional baggage gives us perspective. If we’re willing to undergo this turbulent roller-coaster to see our dreams unfold, what does that say about our strength and belief in ourselves? Sometimes we don’t realize we have more faith in our abilities than we let on. (Hugs)Indigo

  7. Yeah, I’ve been one of those posting about darker things, and it can sometimes make me feel terrible. I’ve even had some readers get a tiny bit upset with me. Still, I can only be honest and have a good attitude about it. But this is publishing, and it’s not all dark, and I think the hard parts make all the wonderful parts even better. 🙂

  8. Writing is an emotional thing — a piece of yourself being put on display to be judged by the world. It’s no wonder that such daily trials as publication, rejection and even acceptance weigh upon the writer’s emotional psyche. But, yes, I think all of it helps the writer (and the writing) to become stronger.

Leave a comment