Happy Monday.  This post dedicated to tying up loose ends!  First, the blogoversary contest.  A BIG CONGRATS TO….

NISA!!!!!!!!

She gets a wonderful writer’s bag full of writerly books, great reads and a surprise or two from me.

Thanks to everyone who stopped by commented.  And thanks to everyone who made this year so amazing.

Okay – next up….Have you seen this app on FB – My Year in Status.  It’s pretty cool!  You ought to test it out!!!  Mine looks like this.

And finally – an update for the rest of this year and my blog.  I am in full holiday swing!  Work in done until January 4.  My sinus cold is better (I’m not 100% – but I’m close).  And I am only doing a few posts between now and the New Year.

Sweet!!!

The theme for these last few posts of 2009 is “My favorite things”.  I always love the end of the year retrospectives – lists upon lists of best books, best TV shows, silliest moments, etc.  In that tradition, I thought I’d share a few of my own lists for 2009. 

Over the course of five days (three this week and two next week), I will post my five lists of fav things for 2009:

  • Favorite blogs
  • Favorite books
  • Favorite reasons not to write
  • Favorite pieces of writerly advice
  • Favorite websites for writers

Sound good?  Hope so, because I’m doing it anyway.

So without further adieu…here are

My Favorite Blogs

These are the author blogs that read every day – regardless of work, the weather, my health, traveling, etc.  I simply HAVE to read these particular blogs:

  • Elana Johnson, Author – – Need a little humor, some great advice and a dash of inspiration – go visit Elana’s blog.  Every morning I get my “Elana-fill” and proceed through the day a bit happier.  Thanks Elana!
  • Lisa and Laura Write by the amazing Roecker sisters.  Talk about a must read – these guys are hysterical, talented and epitome the concept of branding for fiction writers.  Seriously – go check them out!
  • Writing It Out by the newly agented Beth Revis–This blog always, and I mean ALWAYS, has great advice for experienced and inexperienced writers.  Definitely a must read!
  • The Long Road to Heaven by Kat Harris – – This blog always leaving me feeling inspired.  No matter what Kat writes about, her warm style bleeds through every word.  If you haven’t checked it out, you really should.
  • Why A? The Blog of Lisa Amowitz, Young Adult Writer – – I recently discovered this blog and I am glad I did.  She always has some great contest update, interview or other terrific thing happening on her blog! 

Later this week I’ll share the industry blogs and websites I can’t live without.

What are your “can’t live without” blogs???

10 thoughts on “A few of my favorite things…and other randomness

  1. Wow! That was a pleasant surprise! Thanks!

    I love your favorite blogs. I hadn’t been to Beth Revis’ page so I’m glad you listed your favorites. I’m excited to check it out! I would have to add yours to my favorites list and Danyelle’s as well. Bethany and Suzette’s… Okay, there might be too many to narrow it down for me…

  2. Well, there’s this one. 😉

    And I like Lisa and Laura’s. Katie Ganshert’s. Sherrie Peterson. And a few more I can’t remember right now. That’s what I get for leaving my blog reading until 10:30 PM. Sigh.

  3. Thanks for the mention, Christine! I am hugely honored. My baby blog is only three months old! It’s sure been fun.

    Your blog and Elana’s along with Book Muse and Fiction Groupie are some of my faves.

    Hope to have lots more cool interviews and contests in the coming year. AND I will be also featuring the “unsung” those who either have agents and no book contracts or those terrific writers who have neither. But there will be plenty of published authors featured as well.

  4. Oh Christine, we’re so honored!!! We love blogs. We love reading your blog. We love being a part of this community.

    You totally made my day with this post! Thank you!!!

  5. YAY! I love these lists :). Those really are all fantastico blogs. I love this blog, Abby’s, Kirstin White’s… okay, there are a ton that I read daily, even though I don’t always comment. Oy!

    Too many cool people–too little time!

  6. *blushes*

    I’m honored. You have been an awesome source of inspiration this year, Christine. Thanks for being a bright light for me.

Leave a comment